Global Leadership Summit 2015: Reflections

When I got home from the summit yesterday, I was sent a message that presented these seven questions to me. 

1. Why do you keep returning to the summit?
2. What made you want to come to the summit?

3. What speaker or session spoke most to you? Why?

4. How will you implement the things you’ve learned at the summit?

5. What piece of advice really resonated with you?

6. Describe the summit in three or five words. Please elaborate on why you chose those words.

7. Why is it important for others to attend the summit?

I thought it would be a neat way for me to reflect on what I had learned, so here are my answers.

1. Why do you keep returning to the summit?

I come back to the summit because through what I hear and what I learn, God empowers me to make change in the world we live in. It doesn’t teach me to “get a great job” or “be the boss”; it teaches me to make a positive change in others’ lives by making a positive change in myself for others to see. It’s how to get out of a rut and move everyone from “here” to “there” in God’s will. I keep coming because the journey never stops, there’s always more to learn, and I want to keep moving forward.

2. What made you want to come to the summit?

The first time I attended the summit, I went because I was part of an emerging leadership group for youth. I was aspiring to become a great leader, and I was encouraged to go, so I thought I’d try it out. At the time I thought I’d receive a guidebook on how to become a great leader, but instead I got information and ideas that are so much better and have helped me become a better leader. When a leader gets better, everyone benefits. 

3. What speaker or session spoke the most to you? Why?

Albert Tate’s session about the time when Jesus fed the crowd of 5,000 stuck out to me. The way that He took the boy’s scarcity and turned it into abundance amazed me. And all I have to do is give what I have to God, back away, and watch Him do wonders. It encourages me that even though I may not have a lot to give, if I give it all, through me God can do miraculous things.

4. How will you implement the things you’ve learned at the summit?

As I enter college, I’ll be presented with more opportunities to lead, and as I continue to establish a life in the adult world, I know I’ll find myself in the leadership position Because of these years of training as a youth, I’ll hopefully be prepared to demonstrate great leadership as an adult. In the near future, I’ll be focusing on working on myself so that I can be an example of a good leader in even the smallest situations.

5. What piece of advice really resonated with you?

Jim Collins suggested that people work their best and give their greatest effort when committed to a couse, not a leader. I always thought of the people following the leader, but I see how commitment to a cause makes the effort and goal more personal, which usually produces the best effort. 

6. Describe the summit in three to five words. Please elaborate on why you chose those words.

Encouraging. Exciting. Exploring. I know I’m not the best leader, and it encouraged me when prominent leaders stood on the stage and talked about their shortcomings and how they overcame them. The summit itself proves that there is hope of creating better leaders. All the ideas and concepts I learn excite me as I imagine implementing them in my life sometime in the future. I feel a fiery passion to do God’s will and learn as much as I can from the summit so I can do His will to the best of my ability. During the summit, it is a constant exploration on my part of new ideas that can change the world for the better.

7. Why is it important for others to attend the summit?

The main purpose of a leader is to move his or her team from point A to point B. If more people knew how to do that more effectively, business would run smoother, people would be more taken care of, and I believe that it could make a better world. Everyone benefits when a leader gets better.

Leave a comment