Blogs & Bagels

FullSizeRender

Hey everyone, I thought this week I’d bring you an update on my summer and everything happening in my life. From my internship and free bagels to good books and fun in the pool, there’s a lot going on right now!

 

 

 

 


There’s so much happening, that I’m not quite sure where to start! As you’re reading this post I’m probably at work, so I guess I’ll start there. ๐Ÿ™‚ I already talked aboutย my daily commuteย in a recent post and mentioned I’ve been reading a lot of good books lately on my metro ride to work. I hope to write up a post about that soon, but if you want a sneak peak, I’ve been re-reading some of my favorites, which I posted about here. The current book is all about volcanos and dinosaurs and scientists, so keep an eye out for that!

As an intern, I don’t receive a lot of work benefits like paid leave and vacation days, but I still have some pretty nice perks. These come in the form of free bagels every Thursday, catered lunches every other week, and an ice cream treat just ’cause. The best part is the leftover bagels in the freezer that I can snack on whenever I want! Along with co-workers taking me out to eat, I’ve found some pretty yummy spots to find a bite to eat. As a bagel connoisseur, I recommend Cosi bagels. And they’re not just normal bagels … they’re square! (Hence the name ‘squagel’). My favorite is the asiago cheese, but if you’re super brave, try to jalapeรฑo one. It is crazy hot! Other restaurants I’ve tried include District Taco, Prรชt ร  Manger, &Pizza, and Buredo. That last restaurant, Buredo, is something I’d never had before, and I can’t stop thinking about it every since. Get this … sushi burritos. It. is. so. good. While a little on the expensive side (mine cost around $14), it’s definitely enough food for two meals, and it’s totally worth it. I’ve tried the “Sofi” with jalapeรฑos and extra sriracha mayo. As a treat for completing my internship, I’m having a final DC meal there in a few weeks. I’m so excited!

Okay, so enough with the food. Let’s talk a bit about my internship. This summer I’m working at a policy research firm, and most of my work thus far is research and small write-ups. I’ve learned so much though, especially in areas I haven’t really worked in before like health and data visualization. As part of a project, I was taught SAS programming, which is a very valuable skill for me to know as an economics major. I plan to also write a post about all of the neat stuff I’m learning, so keep an eye out for that as well!

This internship is my first “real job” that I’ve ever had, so it’s taken some time to adjust. 9-5 jobs aren’t really just 9am to 5pm. They’re more like 6am-6pm when you add in getting ready, an hour commute both ways, and the usual DC slowdowns. As a result, I haven’t had much time to do anything else. Lately I’ve been swimming in the evenings, trying to reach 15 miles before the summer’s up (it’s something I do every summer). A huge pile of sewing projects are currently piled up around my room, so hopefully I’ll be able to tackle and finish some of those before I head back to school! Even if they don’t all get completed, I’m planning on taking my sewing machine to school with me to continue my hobby there. We’ll see!

On the topic of moving back to college, I’m extremely excited for this upcoming year! I’ll be a junior and living off campus for the first time (yikes and yay!). I’m housing with one of my good friends and freshman roommate, and I can’t wait! I look forward to cooking my own meals, being away from campus, and decorating my room. I’ve started stocking up on plants to make my room feel all nice and happy. And don’t worry, I’ll be sure to share pictures once it’s done!

That’s my summer in a nutshell! What summer fun do you want to accomplish before it’s over?

~Abby

Leave a Reply

