My Favorite Products

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 1.41.06 PM.png

Keeping my body healthy and in a state of wellbeing is very important to me, but it doesn’t just involve how much I workout, how well I eat, or how my emotional state is. It also involves what I put on my body! I don’t really wear makeup or use a whole lot of products, but I thought I’d share with you some of my favorites that I use often and buy over and over again.

 

 

 


  • Maybelline Waterproof Mascara
    If you’ve ever seen a picture of me, you might notice Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 1.51.39 PM.pngthat I don’t wear much makeup. In fact, this mascara is the only thing I do wear! I prefer to spend my time sleeping instead of putting on makeup in the morning, but when I need a little mood booster or want to feel a little more done up, I’ll swipe this across my eyelashes and will feel immediately better. The reason it’s waterproof is because I am constantly rubbing my eyes or scrunching them up, and if I had regular mascara, I would definitely look like a raccoon before the days end! It’s long lasting, shows up well, doesn’t really clump, and is Abby-proof. If you’re a little scared to use waterproof because it’s more difficult to take off, use vaseline! I’ve heard this works well for all makeup removal.

 

  • Insta-Dri Nail Polish
    Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 4.19.16 PM.pngI originally bought this nail polish for my senior prom in high school, but I love the color so much that it’s become my go-to ever since! I’m not a nail polish connoisseur, so when shopping for polish I usually choose based on color. This pale pink (Petal Pusher) is a nice neutral and adds a touch of femininity. Plus, my favorite color is pale pink! At first I had a difficult time with application, but once I figured out I needed multiple thin layers instead of one big globby one, it was more of an insta-dry instead of a “24+ hour”-dry.

 

 

  • Blistex Medicated Lip Balm
    Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 4.23.09 PM.pngLast fall something happened with my lips, and they seemed to be continuously chapped for over three months. I found that my beloved Chapstick didn’t help the situation, so I turned to medicated Blistex. This, along with vaseline during the night, helped my lips get healthy again. Every so often my lips will become chapped again, but now I’m prepared and simply pull this out of my wallet for a quick application.

 

 

  • Colgate Advanced Whitening Toothpaste
    Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 4.22.01 PM.pngMy least favorite place in the world is the dentist. I haven’t had the best experiences with people messing with my mouth (braces for three years plus jaw adjustments!), and I really didn’t care about my teeth. But as I get older appearances become more important, and my frequent cups of tea and semi-negligence had left me with a mouth that didn’t shine. However, after using the Colgate Advanced Whitening toothpaste, I saw a difference within a week! It lightened and brightened my teeth, and I enjoyed smiling that much more.

 

  • Eucerin Daily Replenishing Body Lotion
    Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 4.17.08 PM
    I never used to put on lotion, but one day I decided I was tired of having ashy knees and dry skin. I rubbed on this Eucerin Daily Replenisher and was amazed at the change! My skin looked healthy and it was the perfect balance all day long. I do have sensitive skin that sometimes reacts negatively to products, but this lotion felt so good, and I saw nothing but positive results. One time when I was squished in a car with a bunch of my friends, one of them commented on how smooth my legs felt (even though I hadn’t shaved in a week!). I attribute all of that softness to this lotion.

 

  • Olay Complete All-Day Moisturizer
    Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 1.56.19 PM.pngThere’s a little bit of history behind this face lotion: my mother has used it since she was a teenager, and even now with a teenager and two children in their twenties, she doesn’t have any age wrinkles (if she does, they were caused by my sisters and I). I started to use it a few years when I started swimming and my face was always dry, and now it’s something I use every single day. It’s the perfect balance for my dry skin, and it keeps my face moisturized but oil-free all day long! I definitely notice a difference when I don’t use it, and my skin feels so nice after I put it on.

 

  • BioTrue Multi-Purpose Eye Solution
    Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 4.24.36 PM.pngI’ve been wearing contacts for about six years, and I’ve never used any eye solution except for BioTrue. It’s comfortable, it’s healthy, and it works well. I not only use it to put my contacts in, but if my eyes are dry (from those college all-nighters or mid-afternoon naps), I find it’s also a great way to moisturize my eyes. A couple drops and I’m good to go!

 

 

  • Dry Idea Unscented Deodorant
    Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 4.20.45 PM.pngI mentioned earlier that I’ve had skin problems in the past, and this is the area I’ve had the most problems. My underarms are crazy sensitive, and after going through last year with red, raw, and itchy underarms, my mother recommended I try unscented Dry Idea. It’s a wet deodorant that rolls on, and I’ve had no problem with it! It works well as a deodorant, but is gentle enough on my skin that it stays normal and healthy. If you have sensitive skin, I’d definitely recommend this brand!

 

  • PERT 2-in-1 Shampoo & Conditioner
    Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 4.15.50 PM.pngEveryone’s hair is different, but as a former swimmer and impatient brusher, I’ve found this shampoo-conditioner combo gives my hair the perfect balance. It moisturizes and gives my hair a shine without it getting too greasy or limp. I wash my hair every other day (and use Neutragena’s — every so often), and my hair seems to like this routine.

 

 

 

What are some of your favorite products, and what have you tried in the past that worked/did not work for you?

~Abby

One thought on “My Favorite Products

Leave a Reply

