The Best Vegan Burger Ever!

Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 2.34.59 PM.png

I’ve enjoyed following a (mostly) vegan diet for a while, exploring how to eat and cook creatively without any animal products. However, I had yet to find a vegan burger recipe that came close to surpassing its meat counterpart (most didn’t come close!). Until I found this recipe. No joke, I would gladly take this vegan burger over a regular burger any day, and that’s coming from a former carnivore! Even if you’re not vegan, I’d definitely suggest giving this recipe a try!

 

 


I found this recipe here while I was searching for meals to make during Spring Break, and I immediately wanted to try it! The pictures on her blog show a perfectly round, healthy-looking orange patty, lightly browned on each side. The description contains words like “juicy”, “delicious”, “smoky”, and I can confirm it is an accurate description! I’m a huge fan of chickpea recipes (go check out my hummus recipe!), and the pairing of these beans and BBQ sauce created the perfect alternative to the meaty flavor of a regular hamburger.

Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 2.38.48 PM.png

I followed the recipe exactly and found it quick and easy. My burgers turned out pretty well, though next time I need to remove some of the moisture from my zucchini before adding it to the mixture. I also decided to use english muffins instead of hamburger buns, and I loved it! Not only are they a healthier alternative, but the whole wheat flavor paired well with the smoky BBQ. I decided not to add any toppings because it was so good without, but I’m sure a squirt of BBQ or ketchup would taste delicious too!

IMG_3784.JPG


The Best Vegan Chickpea Burger

Ingredients:

15 oz. Chickpeas
1/2 Cup Rolled Oats
3 Tbsp BBQ Sauce
½ Onion, Finely Diced
1 Small Zucchini, Grated
½ Small Carrot, Grated
Salt, Cumin, Smoked Paprika (about 1tsp each)
Garlic, one clove minced
2 tsp Olive Oil

Instructions:

Drain beans and mash with a fork until no chunks are left. Add the rest of the ingredients (I recommend drying the grated zucchini a little) and mix together. It should be formable, but not too wet or dry that it falls apart. Place on heated skillet, cooking on each side until slightly brown. Put it in a (toasted) english muffin and enjoy!

*This delicious recipe is from Maple Alps

Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 2.45.06 PM.png


I am so glad to have found this recipe, and plan to make it very often! I added some fresh steamed green beans as a side, and it made a great meal.

What are your favorite healthy recipes?

~Abby

Leave a Reply

