December 2016 Favorites

DC Christmas Tree 2016.png

Hey everyone! I’m doing these favorites a little earlier in the month because a) I kinda forgot to do my November favorites (whoops) b) I have a whole lot of favorites and the month is barely half-way over and c) I have so much planned for later in the month, I won’t have time to publish it! So here are some of my favorite things from the past couple weeks. Enjoy!!

 

 

 


Experience: A Day in DC
One of the best things about living near DC is being able to take advantage of all the cool things that happen there around the holidays. I arrived home last Thursday, and this past Sunday my family took a trip in to the big city to hear the U.S. Navy Band’s Christmas Performance at the DAR building. It was spectacular! I actually graduated in the DAR building, so it was nice to be back in the star-spotted seats watching great things happening on stage. After the performance finished, we headed over to the White House and the big Christmas tree. It was huge and it was beautiful! We took the short walk and saw all the states’ tree before heading back through the streets to our car. It was a great way to kick off the Christmas holiday.

 

Book: Harry Potter – À L’École des Sorciersnew-french-harry-potter-books-covers-harry-potter-25105912-481-692
I’ve read the Harry Potter books so many times, they’ve become like bedtime stories to me, and I know pretty much every single word. So when I was looking for a way to practice my French, it was a no-brainer to purchase this book. And I’ve really enjoyed it too! Because I know what’s going on (and exactly what they’re saying in English), I’ve learned a couple new french words. If you’re looking for a way to keep up a second language, pick up a familiar book in that language; it’ll definitely give you some practice!

 

Exercise: TRX
TRX stands for Total Body Resistance Exercise, and it’s definitely a full-body workout! I started doing this once a week this past semester, and I look forward to doing it more in the future! It’s a simple set-up with two straps that you hold on to while squatting, dipping, or pressing (among other moves) or you can put your feet in them while planking, crunching, or piking. It uses body-weight which I enjoy, and I’ve found it’s a really great arm-workout (this is coming from somebody with zero upper body/arm strength). If you’re looking for an exercise that is easily adjustable (making it harder or easier), doesn’t take up much room, has a wide variety of positions, and is extremely effective, TRX is the exercise for you!

 

Outfit: Melrose Dress
Each December, Intervarsity (a Christian club I’m a part of at Melrose Dress.pngschool) has a winter dance called “Melrose”. Everyone dresses up, and we dance around to popular hits and Christmas songs. I’ve been looking forward to this for months, and it was a wonderful night! The dress I wore is actually from Goodwill, but I tailored it in (it was originally tent shaped) and paired it with a big, sparkly necklace. My roommate did a little bit of makeup around my eyes, and I felt absolutely stunning! (I’d been working out a lot too since the dress is skin-tight!) I wasn’t able to get very many good pictures despite it being a fun night, but hopefully I’ll be doing a DIY post soon, so there’ll be more pics to com!

 

Song: Carol of the Bells – Trans Siberian Orchestra
One of my December favorites obviously has to be Christmas-y, so I’d thought I’d share my favorite Christmas song. Not only do I love the tune of “Carol of the Bells”, but the energy of the orchestra makes me explode with Christmas spirit. My church’s worship band played this carol rock-version this past Sunday, and I was thrilled! After hearing some Christmas songs repeated over and over again for days on end, I get pretty tired of hear them. But this is one song I could listen to for forever!

 

Food: Friendsgiving
Okay, okay, this isn’t one specific food, but it was so Friendsgiving Meal.pnghard to pick a single dish I thought I’d include them all! “Friendsgiving” is a Thanksgiving dinner but with lots of friends instead of family, and I had one of these with a bunch of my friends last month. We had so much delicious food, and it was all homemade!! I loved sharing a meal with them, talking over our lives and school and what we’re thankful for. If you can’t tell what’s on the plate, it’s lasagna, corn, macaroni and cheese, green bean casserole, and mashed potatoes. Not pictured is stuffing, garlic french bread, sweet potato casserole, pumpkin pie, brownies, and juice. For a bunch of college kids, we put on quite the feast!

 

Reason to be Happy: End of the Semester
There are so many reasons to be happy, but one of the biggest reasons for me to be happy right now is the fall semester is finally over! It’s been a rough couple of months adjusting back into college and new living arrangements and classes. With God’s help I made it through with goods grades and at least a little bit of sanity left. 🙂

 

What are some of your most recent favorites? Are any of them on your Christmas list?

~Abby

Leave a Reply

