Dear Donald Trump

I-voted-sticker_1478644004427_2249478_ver1.0.jpgBeing totally honest, when I realized that Donald Trump would be the next president of the United States, I became fearful. The thought that someone who is such a poor example of a decent human being could become the leader of the free world frightened me because his radical ideas are about to influence the core of who we are as a country. When I went to bed last night (around 3am), I felt scared for the new dawn to come. But this morning when I woke up, I thought (and said out loud to myself) “Donald Trump, I am not afraid of you. I am no longer fearful because God is bigger than you”.

 

So dear Donald Trump,

When you build your wall, don’t be surprised whenΒ God sends someone like Joshua to tear it down (Joshua 6:1-21).

And you may endorse the objectification and abuse of women, but just wait until a woman like Abigail saves you from God’s wrath like how she saved her foolish husband (1 Samuel 25:1-42) (women in the military are already saving and protecting you btw).

When you try to outcast the refugees and immigrants, don’t forget that when Hagar and Ishmael were outcast, they prospered, eventually leading to the millions of Muslims in the world today (Genesis 21:10-18).

You may be commander-in-chief, but Pharaoh’s armies didn’t do much good when faced with God’s mighty waves (Exodus 14:6-28).

In the words of Joseph, “What you intended for evil, God used for His glory” (Genesis 50:20).

So Donald Trump, when you place your hand on the Bible in January, I hope you remember that the God of the universe is watching you, and you’d be wise not to mess with Him.

~Abby

 

Also, this childhood song popped into my head this morning, and I find it a good reminder that God is in control. πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Dear Donald Trump

  1. liz.chapmann says:

    I really needed this today! This is such a positive view to have. Also, that’s a great song and I totally forgot it existed, so thank you for reminding me.

    • Abby says:

      Thank you so much! I was a little nervous posting it, but I decided to do it since this blog is a place to publish my thoughts. I’m glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

