Fun Fall Activities

The Great Pumpkin.png

Hey y’all! It’s fall! A.k.a. orange pumpkins, spicy apple cider, cool breezes, hiking, camping, and multicolored leaves!! I absolutely love fall, and I’ve been doing so much lately to enjoy it. I thought I’d share some fun fall activities so you can enjoy this beautiful season too!

 

 

 

 


  1. Go camping
    Autumn is probably the best time to go camping! Not only is the weather a perfect temperature, but the scenery with warm hues and wildlife is an instant relaxer. My family and I used to camp every single year, and I fondly remember crunching through leaves gathering firewood or drinking warm apple cider in the cool mornings. My friends and I attempted to go camping a few weeks ago, but after reaching our destination to find it freezing, windy, and complete foggy (we couldn’t see five feet in front of us), we decided to camp it out inside. Microwave s’mores taste good too!
  2. Go hiking
    As I currently live amongst the Appalachian mountains, hiking is a no-brainer activity for fall. Hiking is a great way to get in some exercise while enjoying God’s marvelous world. I actually went on a hike yesterday up Big Schloss with a group of friends. It was a great hike consisting of rosy cheeks, breath-taking views, bright eyes, and great conversation. We didn’t completely finish the trail, so I can’t wait to go back! Hiking pic.png
  3. Go for a walk
    If you’re not as much of a hiker, taking a leisurely walk down the lane is a great alternative. Without the strenuous exercise, walking allows the focus to be on the beautiful fall surroundings. There’s the crisp air filling up our lungs, leaves floating down to earth, wreaths on doors, scarves and sweaters, earthy smells, and all the pleasantries of being outside. Even a short walk outside can be rejuvenating. But don’t forget to layer up as the weather gets colder!
  4. Go to a pumpkin patch
    Pumpkins, pumpkins, everywhere! You may have already picked up a pumpkin spice latte from Starbucks or a pumpkin pie from the grocery store, but why not pick up an actual pumpkin at a pumpkin patch? Picking out the perfect pumpkin is something I’ve loved doing since I was a little kid. There are so many different shapes and sizes, and there might even be a hayride! I recently went pumpkin patching with my friends to a place called Back Home on the Farm. Not only did I find two lovely pumpkins, but I petted a donkey, watched a pig race, enjoyed some apple cider, and explored a corn maze. If you’re in the mountains, you can get some cute pictures too!Pumpkin Patch.png
  5. Carve pumpkins
    So now that you have a pumpkin or two from the pumpkin patch, what are you going to do with them? You could sit them on your porch or dining room table, paint a design, or do the tradition jack-0-lantern carving! Last year, I carved a “Day of the Dead” skull onto my pumpkin (you can find a picture on my about page). This year, I may try to carve Van Gogh’s Starry Night, but I may just do a cute jack-o-lantern face. We’ll have to wait and see!
  6. Fall baking
    There’s nothing better than coming inside from the crisp outdoors and smelling fresh-baked pumpkin bread! To embrace the autumn season, I baked some cinnamon apple slices, which were so delicious! I ate them all in under an hour before realizing that equaled about three whole apples. I couldn’t even look at applesauce for a while. Future baking plans include toasting the seeds of the pumpkins I got from the pumpkin patch. They’re gonna be so yummy!Cinnamon Apples Slices.png
  7. Picnic
    I love picnicking, though I don’t do it very often. Relaxing outdoors on a soft blanket, munching on some yummy fall treats and watching brightly colored leaves fall to the ground sounds like the perfect way to spend an autumn day. Hopefully I’ll have a picnic soon, either with a bunch of good friends or by myself with a good book. Both ways sound great!
  8. Thrift store shopping (for that perfect flannel or 90s jean jacket)
    When I think of fall, the three top things I think about are leaves, pumpkins, and flannels. And where is the best place to find large, comfy flannels? The thrift shop of course! The gently-worn and well-loved clothing is the perfect outfit for fall weather. Whether at the pumpkin patch or on a picnic date, fuzzy flannels, 90s jackets, or comfy sweatshirts are the way to go!Flannel.png
  9. Take a drive through the countryside
    If all else fails, taking a drive through the countryside is a great way to observe and enjoy the autumn season. As dry fields rush past, the trees in the distance continue to drop their leaves as the mountains slowly change colors. A good song comes on as a cool breeze sweeps through the open window, and with a deep breath and a big smile, everything feels alright.

I hope you enjoyed this list of fun fall activities! I know I’ve enjoyed doing some of them, and I can’t wait to see what other autumn adventures I’ll experience in the next few weeks! How have you enjoyed the autumn season so far?

~Abby

Leave a Reply

