DIY Global String Art Map

map-cover

Once you catch the travel bug, you’re hooked for life. I’m don’t travel very often, but the identities of a global citizen and world traveler are already growing within me, and so it’s only natural that I incorporated my love of the world into my dorm room feat. my DIY Global String Art Map.

 


Lots of people have asked me how I came up with the idea. Honestly, it was the huge blank space above my bed that kept calling for me to fill it. There was so much blank wall that my dorm room didn’t really feel like home. The 15ft ceilings didn’t help the room feel cozy either. After only a few days back at college, I decided I needed to fix that!

I don’t really remember how the idea of a world map and string art came together, but once I was fixed on the idea, I knew I had to do it. A quick trip to buy some supplies, and I was ready!

Supplies:

 

Now, this wasn’t just putting pushpins on the wall and hoping it looked like a map. No, I planned this whole thing out, probably too much. I plotted every single point by marking dots on a printed out map and connecting them. Then, I found coordinates, made a big square on my wall, and went to town.

A whole bunch of pushpins later, I had my outline which I then filled with criss-crossed lines of purple string. I took down my border, and voilá! My DIY Global String Art Map was complete! This project took about 4-5 hours (I did take a couple breaks), so if you’re looking to do this, make sure you have plenty of time! I love how it fills up my wall, but isn’t too oppressive. It’s fun, colorful, and displays my passion. I love it so much!

Screen Shot 2016-10-08 at 5.08.09 PM.png

I hoped you enjoyed learning how I created this map for my dorm room! How have you used your creativity lately?

~Abby

8 thoughts on “DIY Global String Art Map

  1. sandraytsai says:

    Oh my gosh… I love this so much, it’s so cute and clever! I’ve been wanting to put some sort of world map poster/art up but havent found anything I loved. Really wish I could do this, except I don’t know how happy my landlord would be with me poking so many holes in the wall…

    • Abby says:

      I’m so glad you like this! I was really thankful my dorm doesn’t mind me poking holes in the wall, but hopefully you’ll find something else to decorate with! I’d love to see the finished product.

Leave a Reply

