September 2016 Favorites

Sept Fav Cover.png

It’s the last day of September, and I must say this month has flown past! As the first month back at college, I have a lot of new favorites like tofu wraps, sunsets on mountains, and working on my six-pack (still a work in progress). I hope your September was great and you’re enjoying the beautiful beginning of autumn!

 

 

 


Food: Flatbread Tofu Wrap from Fueled
When I heard food trucks were coming to JMU, it Screen Shot 2016-09-30 at 10.15.48 AM.pngsounded a little interesting, but I didn’t think I would ever really eat at them. Fast forward to this semester and I’m there at least twice a week! The first time I ate there, the meal I received was dry and terrible, but thank goodness I gave it a second try! My favorite thing on the “Fueled” menu is a flatbread with tofu, kim chi, radishes, scallions, carrots, basil, and a red Thai chili sauce. It is soooo good! I used to get it with jalapeños, but after catching my mouth on fire a couple times, I substituted them with radishes. Either way, it is delicious!

 

Bible Verse: Proverbs 16:3
“Commit to the LORD whatever you do, and He will establish you plans
If I’m being honest, my relationship with God hasn’t been the best these past few weeks, but one thing I’ve done to keep in touch is talking with God on my way to the gym in the morning. Proverbs 16:3 is my favorite verse, and each day I’ve picked out one thing I want to focus on in order to commit my day to God. Examples of things I’ve focused on (and asked God to help me with throughout the day) are being positive, spending some quality time with my roommate, leaning on him for emotional and physical strength, and simply being nice. By committing my day to God in that specific way, I find myself thinking of Him more often during my day and relying on Him to help me succeed at my goals.

 

Picture: Wanna-Be Yogi on Reddish Knob14368688_1206726886046680_2126630514875866367_n
This picture was taken on top of Reddish Knob during a wonderful evening described below. I took a similar picture last year when I saw the sunrise with a bunch of friends (at 5am). Now that I’ve seen both the sunrise and sunset, I’m hoping to soon camp there overnight and get a picture of the Milky Way!
Disclaimer: I am not a yogi, and I almost fell over a couple times while taking this picture. But it sure made for a good picture! Now I have to find another cool pose before I go back!

 

 

Exercise: Core Training
It wasn’t until half-way through last semester that I discovered the wonderfulness of group fitness classes at my college’s recreational center. Last semester I fell in love with boxing and HIIT, and this semester I’ve found a new favorite: Core Training. If you remember a long, long time ago I wrote a post about a few of my fitness goals, and one of those goals was to get a six-pack before my college years come to an end. Well, I decided to move up the deadline, and now I’m trying to build some abs before my 21st birthday (next year, ahhh!). But though this class is building up muscle, the real reason I like it is for its positive vibes. I take it twice a week on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and as soon as I enter the room, I feel happy and positive and ready to take on life. The instructors are incredibly positive (especially at 9am!) and they know my name which shows that they aren’t just there to teach the class, but as people who care to get to know me. I love the class, and I’m hoping to see some abs popping out soon!

 

Book: The Red Sea Rules by Robert J. Morganthe-red-sea-rules
My mom recommended I read this book over the summer, which I did and I really enjoyed it! I’ve started reading it again because it has such good content. It lists and explains “10 God-given strategies to difficult time”, but I’ve found it’s useful for just daily life too.Whenever I get frustrated or am just in a funk, sometimes one of these strategies will pop into my head (such as realize that God means for you to be where you are or be more concerned for God’s glory than for your relief), and after I focus more on God and what He is doing in that moment, my day will basically always be better. It’s a shorter book and filled with deep but easy-to-understand concepts, so definitely go read it!

 

Outfit: My Yellow Raincoat and Rain boots
It’s that time of the year again when the heat gradually
goes away and that lovely autumn chill sweeps in, rattling leaves off the trees and brining with it scarves and sweaters and all things fall. This past week, we’ve had those autumn rains, and I am so glad my favorite yellow rain jacket and black rain boots were sitting in my closet, ready to splash in puddles and protect me from the rain. The rain jacket is the one I wrote about last year, but the boots are different from the ones in the post. These are Hunter rain boots, and I love them so much! They’ve lasted me almost a year at this point, having experienced, rain snow, and mud. If you’re looking for a solid pair of footwear, I definitely recommend Hunter boots. They’re a bit more expensive, but they won’t suddenly have a leak in the middle of a rainstorm!

 

Fun Fact: I cut my own hair for the first time!
If I showed you a before and after picture, most of you Haircut.pngprobably wouldn’t notice much of a difference because my hair was already pretty short. But to me, that 1&1/2 inch made such a huge difference! I like my hair to end just above my shoulders, and lately it had just been too long. In the past my sister cut my hair (an awesome bonus for attending the same college), but due to scheduling and general busy-ness, we hadn’t been able to find a good time. So, late one Saturday when I was bored and looking for something to do, I pulled out my scissors, did some brief research on how to cut hair, and started chopping away. I think it turned out well! (though the next morning I looked in the mirror and realized it was a little shorter than I initially thought)

 

Habit: Writing in my happiness journal
I mentioned this habit in my Back to College post, and basically I’ve created a small journal that whenever I feel happy, I write down the moment. Examples of what I’ve written down range from “I’m wearing a cute dress” to “stretched muscles that feel good” to “roommate giving me pillows after I accidentally fell asleep” to “little bunnies”. I’ve found it helps keep me positive and look for all the little moments in life that make it so good.

 

Experience: Sunset on Reddish Knob
Reddish Knob is a popular place to go near my college. Its 360 view is the perfect place to go anytime of the day at anytime of the year. Last year I went for sunrise, and it was absolutely stunning! I took a bunch of photos with my friends and enjoyed the lovely beginning to a new day. Last week, I went to see the sunset, and it was just as gorgeous. We made a campfire, baked chocolate chip pancakes, took a bunch of photos with the sunset, and had our own little worship session. I thought that after the sun went down, there’d be nothing to see except happy faces in the firelight, but I was so wrong! The park that Reddish Knob resides in is one of the darkest places on the east coast, and we could see the Milky Way. I haven’t seen the Milky Way in probably over two years (I’m a huge fan of stars), so while the others sat and sang with the guitar, I laid back on the ground and enjoyed both the music and the beautiful creation of God. It was one of those experiences you see in pictures that can only dream of happening, but I found myself there and enjoyed every moment of it.

Reddish Knob.png(P.S. if you want to read some more of my recent college experiences, check out this post)

 

I hope your month has been absolutely wonderful! What are some of your favorites?

~Abby

Leave a Reply

