I’m Back at College!

JMU!

Though I’ve only been back at college for three weeks, it’s felt like three months! I’ve gotten so much done and experienced so much as well, and I’m super excited to share it all with you. From dorm decor to splashing in a fountain to staying positive, the start to my sophomore year has been great!

 

 

 


Dorm Decor

They say the space you live in reflects who you are, and that’s definitely true for me! I’ve been quite busy decorating my space, and I must say it’s pretty impressive. The string art map took me about four hours to install (I might do a post on that sometime in the future), and the washi tape “Be Happy” took quite a while too. Both were definitely worth the time and work! I love the space I’m in, and I can’t wait to add some more!

Dorm Room String Art World Mapimg_2619screen-shot-2016-09-03-at-3-51-52-pm

A really neat fact about my dorm is that both my mother and my grandmother not only lived in my dorm, but lived on the same floor! Three generations have called this place home, and I just find that super neat.

bestyshelbytheresa.jpg

 

How I’m Staying Positive

The first month is often hard for me, adjusting to new environments, new workloads, new friends, and new schedules. Sometimes it’s hard to stay positive, but I’ve found a way that keeps me looking on the bright side. I don’t really have an official name for it, but I call it either my “What Makes Me Happy” journal or my “Good Vibes Only” journal. Basically every time something makes me smile or happy, I write it down in my journal. I’ve found it keeps me positive because I’m constantly thinking about the things in my life that make me happy. It has a wide range of entries from “a bus driver letting me cross the street” to “chinese food” to “little bunnies on campus”. I made mine look a little nicer by DIY covering it with washi tape. A super simple way to keep my days looking bright!

Screen Shot 2016-09-15 at 12.50.43 AM.png

 

Now for some stories!

Last night while doing homework, I was feeling frustrated and a little overwhelmed with all the work I have, and somehow I convinced myself that what I needed was a peppermint hot chocolate from Starbucks (my favorite hot drink). I threw on my favorite comfy sweater dress (I was previously in my PJs), and off I went with my roomie to Starbucks. After the warm drink was clutched in my hand and we were heading back, we passed the campus fountain, and I decided that it was the perfect spot to drink my peppermint hot chocolate. So that’s what we did! We sat on the ledge and dabbled our feet in the cold water while I slurped my drink, gazing at the stars and just letting the tension roll away. You can bet this nighttime venture is recorded in my happiness journal!

Screen Shot 2016-09-15 at 12.36.01 AM.png

Want to know the secret to a great weekend? Puppies, sleepovers, road trips, and great friends! Last weekend just happened to include all of the above, in addition to cookies, puzzles, blanket forts, a new best friend (it’s a dog), breakfast at 1am, and lots of laughing! My roommate had gone home for the weekend, so I spent a few days with some of my friends at one of their apartments. We did all the above plus so much more that would take me forever to list! Blanket forts and cookies made the perfect sleepover, and our road trip to visit a new puppy was a super fun adventure. I can’t wait for our next one!

Screen Shot 2016-09-15 at 12.29.29 AM.png

My final story for this post (don’t worry, there’ll be plenty more in the future!) includes yummy ice cream. There’s a dining facility on campus called “Dukes”, and they have not only the biggest, but the best ice cream on campus. My favorite flavor is chocolate chip, and that’s exactly what I ordered last week. I also bought a bunch of granola bars, and while I struggled to package them all in a bag while trying not to drop my ice cream cone, three freshman girls practically screamed at me, “Where did you get that ice cream cone?!?”. I told them where and how much, and then they kind of just stared at my ice cream in a trance. I stood there for a few seconds before they bounced off (presumably to get some delicious ice cream!). As soon as I stepped outside into the heat, my ice cream started melting, and not slowly like it does in advertisements, but more like instant ice cream soup. Imagine this: I’m walking uphill, carrying a bag and an ice cream cone, frantically licking everywhere trying to catch all the drips. There was ice cream on my nose, ice cream on my hands, even ice cream on my feet! At the top of the hill I decided to sit down to wrestle with the delicious creaminess making a mess all over me, and I finished my yummy treat enjoying the summer sun.

ls.jpg

 

That’s a snapshot of the first few weeks of my sophomore college adventure! There’ve been ups and downs, but I’m enjoying being back on campus, learning new things and having fun with friends. I can’t wait for the rest of this year’s adventures!

What adventures have you had lately?

~Abby

One thought on “I’m Back at College!

  1. sojournersays says:

    I love the idea of a “Good Vibes Only” journal! It definitely can be useful in times of stress, and a good reminder on the not-so-good days. As for adventures, I think we have the same idea of a good time. Since being back at college, I’ve enjoyed late night chats at coffee shops, eating cookies and laughter. Sometimes the simple things are the best things!

Leave a Reply

