August Favorites

August Favorites Cover.jpg

The final month of summer has come to a close, and though I can’t wait for autumn to come, it’s sad to see summer go. A lot of great things have happened this month, and I’m so excited to share them with you! By far the best thing is moving back to college, and I’m loving the views and reunited friends.

 

 

 


Experience: Helping with Freshmen Move-In
This was my first time helping move-in freshmen (since I was a freshman last year), and it was so much fun! I thought it would be lots of hard work, sweatiness, and sore limbs, and it was, but it was also so rewarding. Even though I’m not a freshman anymore (*crying*), I still felt the excitement and nervousness of new beginnings. The reason carrying heavy boxes and awkward packages was so rewarding is because I was helping transition students into the best year of their life (at least it was for me). I had the best year of my life so far, and I want them to have that too. Helping with move-in was my little way of saying welcome to college.

 

Place: JMU!!!
I am back at college! As I mentioned before, my JMU!.pngfirst week consisted of moving-in freshmen, eating sweet potatoes, and figuring out how to fit all of my stuff (plus my roommate’s stuff) into our dorm room. This past week was the start of classes, and my schedule is actually pretty nice. I have some classes for my major and some classes just for fun (or other requirements), and though some of the timing isn’t the best (classes on Tuesday/Thursday don’t start until 2pm!), I’m making it work. I’ve seen most of my friends from last year and visited their new living spaces and grabbed some meals with them too! This year is already different from last year in good and bad ways, but that’s life, and I look forward to enjoying the good times and getting through the bad times.

 

Food: Sweet Potatoes
I actually mentioned this in my Liebster Award post, and I don’t think people quite understand how much I enjoy sweet potatoes. When my mom asked what foods I wanted to take to college with me, sweet potatoes was on the list! The first week at college I didn’t have a meal plan (I was helping move freshmen in), so I basically survived off of sweet potatoes and granola bars. My go-to way to cook them is to bake them in the microwave! Simply wrap the sweet potato in a wet paper towel (clean and poke the sweet potato first), and then stick it in the microwave for six minutes, turning over halfway through (cooking time may vary). I like eating them plain, but some people like them with brown sugar. Yum!

 

Picture: My Sophomore Dorm Room
A new year means a new dorm room, and I think Dorm Room String Art World MapI’ve outdone myself a little bit on this design! It took around 4-5 hours to complete (it probably shouldn’t of taken that long, but oh well). The process began with me marking points on a map of the world, connecting them with with lines, find their coordinates, transferring those coordinates onto the wall with pushpins, and then connecting it all with string. Check out this post to see the full process and how-to!

 

Exercise: Walking
Okay, so this isn’t the most exciting exercise, but it’s one I’ve been doing a lot, and I’ve begun to like it a little bit more (I used to hate walking for exercise). My classes this semester are pretty close to my dorm, so there’s no real reason to take the bus, and since no buses run in the wee morning hours when I go to the gym, I’ve been walking everywhere on campus. The heels of my new shoes are already wearing down! I love the time it gives me to think and how it gives me an opportunity to observe and appreciate the world. Yes, I may still take the bus across campus every once in a while, but I definitely might think twice now!

 

Color: Pantone 576
This olive color is a recent favorite thanks to a pair of Pantone 5767shorts I discovered in my drawers. I’d bought it years before along with a pink pair (which I wear all the time), but at the time I didn’t really know how to wear it or what colors to match with it. Enter my favorite cream top. I paired the two together, and these shorts are now my new favorite! I actually wore the cream top/olive shorts outfit on my first day of school this past Monday, striding around campus knowing I looked fabulous. Olive doesn’t pair well with everything, but once you find the secret combo, you’ll be reaching for it over and over again!

 

Outfit: Florals
I really can’t talk enough about how much I love florals. I wrote about it a few weeks ago in “The Floral Trend” and have worn florals so much since then. I’ve incorporated them into my clothing (both store-bought and homemade), the pictures I take, and the patterns of home decor. I recently found a floral shop within walking distance of my dorm, so I can’t wait to gather some fresh flowers for my room! Definitely check out my other post to see more about my recent obsession of florals!

 

Book: Guns, Germs, and Steel by Jared DiamondGG&S.jpg
This was my goal for the summer. Read Guns, Germs, and Steel and gain cool knowledge about the world. Let’s just say I didn’t completely check that box. But I did enjoy what I read (about half the book), and I definitely recommend it! As an Economics and International Affairs major, I found those aspects of the book intriguing. The way that people, ideas, and agriculture spread across the globe was fascinating to read about. It’s a big book, but one you should not pass by!

 

 

 

Bible verse: Isaiah 40
This Bible verse has been a real comfort to me a couple of times this past month. During one of my quiet times, I randomly flipped open my Bible and landed here. As I read it, I felt the power and passion in which the writer spoke the words. At the end, I felt as if I should be standing on top of a mountain, speaking in a loud voice so that all the world could hear the greatness of our God. Isaiah 40 is such a comforting chapter because it reminds me that God is so much bigger and awesome, and all I need to do in life is glorify Him.

 

Are any of you heading back to school? What are some of your favorites from this past month?

~Abby

 

2 thoughts on “August Favorites

  1. April Ann says:

    First off, that map design on your wall is phenomenal!!! I am so impressed!!! Happy sophomore year! Isaiah 40 is such a powerful chapter, I just used one of the verses from that chapter recently on a discussion board assignment for one of my classes. Praying for a blessed and successful school year for you!!!

Leave a Reply

