Tips for College Bloggers, From a College Blogger

tips-for-cb-from-a-cb-cover

Another year of college has begun, and I’m here with some advice for my fellow college bloggers. Whether you post every day or every few months, I’m sure this advice will help you get back into the swing of things!

 

 

 

 


  1. Find your niche
    This piece of advice originates from my high school principal, but I’ve found it can be applied to any area of my life. Finding your niche means finding a place where you are comfortable being yourself, have people who support you, and involves something you’re interested in. It doesn’t have to be too specific though! In the blogging world, I’ve found my niche in the lifestyle area, posting about cooking, clothes, hobbies, and random thoughts. Finding your niche is helpful because you’ll have a broad topic to expand on in your posts.
  2. Create a special spot
    Finding your niche doesn’t just apply to the blogging sphere; it also applies to the physical world! Finding a place on campus or in your living space to blog is a great way to focus your brain and make a creative spot for you to blog. I’ve found I enjoy an outdoor seat on the edge of my campus, close to food but away from the college busy-ness. If you regularly blog or think up ideas in this spot, you’ll train your brain to focus on being creative in that spot. Also, it’s nice to have a place in mind when you want to get away.
  3. Try to set a schedule
    This is definitely not a necessity! However, when I decided on a day and time to publish my posts, I created and published far more posts than when I waited until I was inspired. Did the quality of my posts suffer? I don’t think so. In fact, I think creating a schedule helped me find my niche and as a result I created better posts. Knowing I have a post scheduled on Thursday at 8:41am (sometimes I’m a bit late [whoops]), I’ll usually write the post earlier in the week when I have a good chunk of time, and then I’ll edit it until Thursday comes along. Because I have more time to think about my post instead of writing something from inspiration and then posting it right away, my posts have improved in quality. (Bonus advice: if you post on a regular schedule, your blog will get more traffic. I don’t really know why, it’s just magic).
  4. Keep it fun
    If you want your blog to be a priority, make it a priority! Set a schedule, find your special spot, and find your niche. But keep it fun 🙂 You’re in college and there are so many stressors in your life: don’t let blogging become another one. Blog about things you enjoy! If you like posting pictures of baby giraffes, post pictures of baby giraffes. If you like writing about politics, write about politics. Blogging is a creative output, and creativity is fun. So keep it light, keep it happy, and have some fun!
  5. Find a community of college bloggers
    This is something that I never intentionally did, but when I started following a few college bloggers and exchanging comments, I realized how nice it is to share blogs with people going through the same experiences. If you’re looking to find some college bloggers, check out the blog and college WordPress tags. Every so often I’ll scroll through there and check out some blogs. Don’t make it forced, but when you find a blog and blogger that you like, stay involved! It’s great reading about others’ college experiences as I go through my own.
  6. Go your own pace
    If you’re looking for a lot of followers, use your best strategies to attract a lot of people. If you don’t want a lot of followers, don’t put yourself out there as much! Your blog is yours to control, and success looks different to different people. Gaining 10,000 subscribers may be a huge step for some people, while just publishing one post is huge for others. Don’t compare your blogs to others because your blog is as unique as you are.
  7. Plan ahead
    You’ve stuck with me this far, so don’t let this advice turn you away! I know planning ahead is not always fun or easy, but it helps so much. Somedays I’ll be full of inspiration and write seven posts, and sometimes I’ll have writers’ block for months. Even if you don’t write the full posts, it’s great to have a list of potential blog posts for days when you just can’t come up with anything. Scheduling involves planning ahead by making sure posts are ready and edited on time. For those that have a blog as a fun side thing, planning ahead isn’t such an important thing. But when it’s Wednesday night and I’m struggling to come up with something, I sure am thankful for that list of post ideas I have saved.

Hopefully this advice will help out some college bloggers as they return to school and start another year anew. These have all helped me this past year, and I’m sure I’ll have some more advice at the end of this year too!

What advice do you have for college bloggers?

~Abby

32 thoughts on “Tips for College Bloggers, From a College Blogger

  1. dina97 says:

    Thank you for your tips!
    One of the things I will start to blog about is definitely college, I love seeing those inspirational college tips from other blogger so I thought I’ll also give it a try 🙂

    Thank you! 🙂

  2. Caitlin Marie says:

    Loved these tips! I’ve been blogging for just over 2 years but posts like these always help inspire me and find my motivation again. Love getting the insight of other college bloggers ❤

Leave a Reply

