Global Leadership Summit 2016: Day 2

GLS Logo

The second day of the Global Leadership Summit came and went, with some spectacular speakers and life-changing ideas. Today I learned more about the need for intentionality, and why it is so important in leadership.

 


Chris McChesney began today’s session with his 4 Disciplines of Execution. Leaders must intentionally focus and work on these disciplines in order to execute their strategies. The first discipline is focus on the wildly important. McChesney observed that there will always be more good ideas than there is capacity to execute. These wildly important goals (WIGs) are “the fewest battles needed to win the war”. Β Each WIG needs to have an outline of where you’re coming from, where you’re going, and by when. The second discipline is act on the lead measures. Third and fourth are keep a compelling scoreboard (and make sure they are keeping score), and create a cadence of accountability. Leadership is not about pushing people from here to there, it’s about creating a pull. You have to make them uncomfortable with where they are in order for your team to move.

Erin Meyer spoke next, and while I didn’t take down many notes during her talk, I loved what she talked about. The way that different cultures interact is something that fascinates me (and it what I’m majoring in!), and I loved hearing about her stories and discoveries from working with global teams. She mentioned some free online content that I can’t wait to check out. One of the tools is a personal culture map, which tells you if you’re living in the right country or not. I cannot wait to figure out how I measure up to the rest of the world, and how I might face challenges as a future world traveler.

My favorite speaker today was probably John C. Maxwell. It was almost a overly-optimistic “we can make the world a better place!”, but he made sure to address the challenges of intentionally adding value to people every day. The main point that stuck with me is “people have uphill hopes, but downhill habits”. And the only way to change a downhill habit is to live intentionally. That’s one thing I’m starting to learn as a young adult is that life isn’t really worth living unintentionally. It takes some work to be deliberate and consistent, but life is so much better. I’m tired of accepting my life instead of leading it, and Maxwell’s talk lifted up my spirit by stressing the importance of adding value to other people’s lives. His point wasn’t to be nice to people to add value to my life, but to add value to others’ lives. And through that my life gains value. Maxwell made one point that not only made me a little sad, but placed a challenge in my life. He said that most people see Christians as correctors, not connectors. God loves all the broken pieces, and I wish the Church would reflect that by connecting and loving everyone. “God values the people you don’t like”. If we connected more and corrected less, I think the world would be a much better place.

Bishop TD Jakes was next, and I loved every single word that came out of his mouth. I wish I could share the interview he gave, for it had all sorts of amazing insight into a multitude of topics. One idea he presented is one I’ve seen reflected in my Intervarsity club at college: we tell people to come to church, but the great commission is to go out. It makes so much sense, but I never really though about it. Most of Bishop Jakes’ ideas were like that actually. I think I’ll just list some of my favorites quotes from him because I can’t even begin to really sum up the great insight I heard. “If you can fulfill your dream by yourself, you dream is too small.” “You can touch everything [the many aspects of your life], but don’t hold on for too long. If you have to hold on to something too long, you don’t have the right people in place.” “The big question is not where we are going, it is what are we willing to leave behind.” “People are saving yesterday’s bread that was supposed to spoil [in an analogy of the 40 years in the desert].” “It is not just about skin color [in regards to the racial tension], but to what degree have you included them in the strategy for success?” “Anarchy comes about when someone in power forgets someone who wasn’t.” “We were much more like God when we are being creative because we were created to be creative.” If you have a chance to pick up his book or hear one of his talks, I would definitely recommend you do so. I guarantee you will take at least one life-changing thought away from it.

These were my favorite speakers, though I did enjoy the other talks, and I am so glad to have once again attended the Global Leadership Summit. I believe that God is doing great works through the summit, and though I’m not part of a company or business team, I know that the knowledge and insight I gain from these summits will enable me to be a better leader in the future. If you missed my notes from yesterday, you can find them here, and if you’re interested in my notes and thoughts from last year, you can find that content here.

~Abby

Leave a Reply

