Red Pepper Ravioli

Ravioli cover

Filled with a multitude of vegetables and created lovingly by hand, these ravioli tasted absolutely delicious and were the perfect outcome of a day of hard work. There are so many things I love about this dish: the prominent flavor of red pepper, feeling like an Italian as I rolled out the dough, and having all my hard work pay off. Have I made you hungry yet? Keep reading for the recipe!

 


Have you ever made ravioli from scratch? If you said yes, isn’t it so much fun! If you said no, you should try it sometime! I’ve made ravioli once before, but as that was quite a while ago, I decided I’d try it again. Also, I’ve been baking like crazy the past couple of months, and I was ready for something different! The pasta dough and sauce were inspired by others’ recipes, which I’ll link below, but the filling was completely my invention! I think it turned out completely amazing!

First step is the pasta dough. The recipe I used can be found here, though I did double it because I love pasta so much! I didn’t use the rest of that website’s recipe, but it sure look yummy! The dough was a lot of fun to make, and in the end it turned out super well!

Chopped Veggies for Ravioli Filling

While the dough sat for an hour, I began my filling. I had an idea in my head to make a red pepper/squash/zucchini sauce with mushroom chunks, and that’s essentially what I did. After sautéing the veggies, I blended them in my trusty NutriBullet to create a thick sauce. I added in some Greek yogurt (ricotta would work nicely as well, but I was all out!) and parmesan cheese. I mixed in the mushrooms to add a bit of flavor and texture. It tasted soooo yummy!!

The First Ravioli!

Finally, the sauce. The sauce I created was inspired by this recipe, and I added in some white wine, parmesan cheese, and the left-overs of my filling. This sauce is amazing!!! The red pepper flavor was very prominent, the sauce was a great consistency, and it tastes good on lots of different foods! (Besides ravioli, I also mixed it with my green beans and corn. Yum!)

Boiling Ravioli

All in all this was a huge success, and though it took me quite a few hours to create and I was exhausted by the end, I had a great time and a great dinner. I can’t wait to see what I make next!

Ravioli cover


Red Pepper Ravioli

Pasta Dough (doubled)

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups flour
2 eggs
1/2 cup hot water
1/2 teaspoon salt

Filling

Ingredients:
1 red pepper, diced
1/2 zucchini, diced
1/2 large squash, diced
1 tsp garlic
1/2 cup Greek yogurt
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
1/2 cup mushrooms
salt and pepper to taste

Sauce

Ingredients:
2 red peppers, diced
2 tomatoes, diced
1/2 cup water
basil leaves (however much you like)
1 tbsp butter
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp white wine
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  1. Mix dough ingredients together, adding flour or water until dough is slightly sticky, but won’t stick to your hands. Kneed dough until it has a good texture and firmness. Enclose in saran wrap and let sit for an hour.
  2. Chop red pepper, zucchini, and squash. Heat up olive oil in a pan with garlic, adding the chopped vegetables once hot. Cook until vegetables are very tender and most of the liquid is evaporated.
  3. Put vegetables into a blender (I used my NutriBullet) and blend until a smooth consistency. Add Greek yogurt, parmesan cheese, and salt&pepper, blending until everything is mixed well. Chop up mushrooms and add them to the filling (I left them as little chunks, though you could blend them up as well).
  4. Once the dough has sat for an hour, use a rolling pin to create a thin layer of dough. If you have a ravioli mold, skip the rest of this step and continue at step 5. Cut into longs strips 2-3 inches wide (I used a pizza cutter), and place filling in mounds along the strip, making sure they’re at least an inch apart. Place another strip of dough on top (water helps them stick together better), and gently press around the mounds. Cut in between the mounds to separate them, and then use a fork to press around the mound, sealing the filling inside.
  5. Boil 4 liters of water. Add ravioli. Depending on the size of your ravioli and the thickness of the dough, your boiling time could range from 5-10 minutes. My ravioli were quite large and thick and took closer to 10 minutes.
  6. For the sauce, add vegetables and water to a pan and simmer for 25 minutes. Once most of the liquid has evaporated, add the basil, give the pot a good stir, and then transfer to a blender (I used my NutriBullet). I had some left-over filling and added that to the mixture as well. Add the rest of the sauce ingredients and blend until a thick, but smooth consistency. Pour over ravioli and enjoy!

*Note* I doubled the dough recipe, and it made a lot of ravioli. As I said I had plenty of filling, but I could have used a bit more sauce. If you plan to halve the recipe, I’d halve the dough and filling, but not the sauce. You can never have too much sauce!

Hopefully this post makes you want to go roll out some dough and pretend to be Italian for the day! I enjoyed every step of this recipe from the making to the eating. Do you have a favorite pasta, filling, or sauce?

~Abby

Leave a Reply

