Clay in the Potter’s Hands

Screen Shot 2016-07-28 at 9.43.19 PM.png

A few days ago I flipped to a random part of my Bible (which is how most of my quiet times start), and God directed me to a passage reassuring that He has a plan and will work on us until we reach our full potential. I wrote down my thoughts and decided to share them with you. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 


“He said, ‘Can I not do with you, Israel, as this potter does?’ declares the LORD. ‘Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand, Israel.'” -Jeremiah 18:6

I’ve heard stories of the potter and his clay before, but this time I took a moment to actually think about the metaphor and what God was trying to tell me. What struck me is that God is in total control.Β It isn’t someone else who decides how to mold the pot, it’s the maker. It isn’t the pot itself or other pots, but it is the maker who will mold the pot because he can see its full potential. And sometimes we have to be squished back into a ball of clay to become something new and better. We may think that what we were before was better, but the maker has a beautiful vision that we don’t, and probably can’t, see. Perhaps once he starts molding us, we may get a sense of where he’s headed, but we’ll never know the finished vision until we’re finished. And he will finish us because he can always mold our mis-shapedness to suit his purpose.

It’s reassuring because if I’m on the wrong path, I can trust that He will guide me to the right way. Even if I think I’m on the right path, but aren’t completely sure, I know that His hands are leading the way. I also love that we are always moldable. At no point does the clay become hard and no longer moldable until the maker is finished. Until God is done with us (aka when we get to heaven probably), we are not too far gone. We will not spoil or be too disappointing to Him. No, He will simply take us back into His gentle hands and form us into a better vessel for His Kingdom.

~Abby

One thought on “Clay in the Potter’s Hands

Leave a Reply

