July 2016 Favorites

Version 2

Another month has passed by, and I’ve gathered all of my July favorites to share with you! From new outfits to old family traditions, these favorites made the past couple weeks a joy to live!

 

 

 

 


Color: Pantone 1895 Pantone 1895.png
“Anything is possible with sunshine and a little pink.”
-Lilly Pulitzer
Pink recently became one of my favorite colors and has gradually snuck into my wardrobe, which I am thrilled about! This particular pink reminds me of roses and lemonade and pretty bows and rosy cheeks. It definitely makes me feel feminine, which is one reason I love it!

 

 

Outfit: My DIY Pink Overalls
I think we can all agree that overalls are pretty awesome. I already had one pair, but some pink fabric sitting in my closet was begging to be made into overalls, so I did! This was a challenging but fun project where I made my own pattern (my first time doing this!), and it actually turned out super cute! You can check out my post to read more about it. I definitely see some more pairs in my future! A girl can never have too many overalls, right?

 

Food: Greek Yogurt “Cheesecake” SoufflesScreen Shot 2016-07-27 at 10.02.42 PM
I mentioned this last week in my “The Joy of Baking” post, and I’m actually snacking on a piece now, complimented with some raspberry tea (Mmmmmmm). To start off, I am a huge fan of cheesecake. Yes I have dairy problems, and yes cheesecake makes a thud in my stomach, but that’s the beauty of this recipe (which I adapted from this website). It’s basically just Greek yogurt and eggs (and a good bit of butter if you make a crust). Since it’s basically healthy, I don’t feel the least bit guilty when eating this!

 

Experience: Together 2016
This was an incredible experience that I was fortunate to attend live in Washington D.C.! Basically, it was hundreds of thousands of people gathering together to worship God. There were popular musicians and speakers and prayer time and singing, and it was just a great experience that definitely furthered the Kingdom of God. I went with my family, and I was so amazed at how many people were there! I stood on my tiptoes, and I couldn’t see the end of the crowd! If you want to know more about the event, click here.

 

Bible Verse: Psalm 73:23-26Psalm 73

Yet I am always with you;
    you hold me by my right hand.
You guide me with your counsel,
    and afterward you will take me into glory.
Whom have I in heaven but you?
    And earth has nothing I desire besides you.
My flesh and my heart may fail,
    but God is the strength of my heart
    and my portion forever.

I read this one day during my quiet time, and it’s stuck with me ever since. I see it as a little reminder that God is in control, and everything will work out for His glory. Remembering to trust in God has been a big thing this summer because it’s been a very different summer than I expected. Even though lots of things I hoped for didn’t happen, I’ve moved on and continue to try and figure out what God wants for me to be doing. I know He has the very best planned for me (Jeremiah 29:11), so I’ve just got to trust in God and let my soul rest in His peace.

 

Place: The Family Farm
It’s become a family tradition that every year around Independence Day, relatives from all over spend a day feasting, talking, and enjoying each others’ company on the Farm. It’s a typical July 4th party with hamburgers, hot dogs, coleslaw, pies, distant relatives, unrelated relatives, horseshoes, farm tours, and lots and lots of talking! Not only is the food and family great, but the view is absolutely breathtaking. We were able to stay the night, and I enjoyed watching the sun set behind the mountains and viewing the fireworks in the distance. This year was a blast, and I can’t wait for next year’s gathering!

 

Book: Paris Underground by Etta Shiber2343077
Chances are you haven’t heard of this book. I hadn’t either until someone placed it in my hands while I was at the farm for Independence Day. I started reading it mid-afternoon, and after a few pages, I was hooked. It’s a historical nonfiction (one of my favorite genres) recounting a true story of Etta Shiber and her friend Kitty living in Paris during WWII when the Nazis took over France. Many war stories include the gory and bloody scenes that many people lived through, but this book doesn’t really include any of that, though it does effectively portray the danger the two women and others were in. I throughly enjoyed this book, finishing it in the same day, and would definitely recommend it to anyone who loves historical/war books.

 

Exercise: Swimming
For the past two summers, our pool has issued a challenge for its members to swim 15 miles before the end of summer. My family and I have achieved those 15 miles both summers (and the free t-shirts for completion), and are doing it again this summer. I never got into swimming until a couple of years ago. As a child, my mother (who has some local swimming records still standing) tried to bribe me with money to join the swim team, but I was so against swimming, I turned down $50. For a child, that’s a lot of money. That’s half of an American Girl Doll. Fast-forward quite a few years to my high school years, and there I was with a swim cap on my head, trying out for the swim team (which I swam with my junior and senior year). I now love swimming, and for those of you wondering what stroke I am, I’m mostly a freestyler/relay swimmer, but my favorite is definitely the butterfly. I’m still getting back into swim shape after a couple months off, but I look forward to adding another 15 miler t-shirt to my collection.

 

Picture: #sistersquad
Some memories we hold are of big events. #sistersquad.pngWhen a child is born, birthdays, special events … But sometimes the best memories are on insignificant days, just hanging out with people you love. That’s where this picture came from. My two sisters joined me on my bed, and we took photos and laughed and bonded for at least two hours. Besides a camera roll full of sisterly silliness, I also now have a fond memory of a normal day spent with two humans I love very much.

I hoped you enjoyed reading about my July favorites! What were some of you favorites this month? If you missed my June favorites, click here to check them out!

~Abby

 

Leave a Reply

