The Personalized Pouch

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 4.48.42 PM

This pouch is quick, easy, and super stylish. What more could you ask for? It’s the perfect size to hold pens and pencils, make-up, receipts, hair-ties and accessories, and so much more! I made these pouches as gifts for some of my graduating friends, but I’ll definitely be making myself one soon!

 

 

 

 


It’s that time of the year where schools are beginning to let out for summer and the seniors are finally graduating from high school. A few of my friends recently tossed their caps, and while trying to figure out the perfect graduation gifts, I came across some extra fabric, interfacing, and zippers in my sewing stash. A few quick searches for inspiration on Pinterest and I was ready to start sewing!

I started off by cutting out my fabric and interfacing. I cut 9″x5″ rectangles out of interfacing and two types of leftover fabric (one for the outside and one for the interior of the pouch). Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 5.00.03 PM.png

To create the personalized letter, I first outlined the letter on the interfacing and then pinned the interfacing to the wrong side of my floral fabric. (If your letter is not symmetrical, make sure you pin it so the letter appears backwards!) I then sewed multiple times along the outline until the letter stood out.

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 5.05.34 PM

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 5.07.28 PM.png

I then attached the zipper to my floral fabric by placing it facedown on the right side of my fabric and stitching across the top.

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 5.14.32 PM.png

I did the same for the back piece and inside pieces.

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 5.18.42 PM

For the inner fabric, I topstitched it so it wouldn’t get caught in the zipper. (This happened the first time I made the pouch, and I had to tear the whole thing apart!)

IMG_1642

Next, I laid the pieces right sides together and sewed around the edges, leaving a small gap on the interior fabric. Make sure the zipper is unzipped!!!! You won’t be able to turn it right-side-out if your zipper is closed! (Yes, I learned this from personal experience)

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 5.23.16 PM.png

Pull all your fabric through the gap, stitch it closed, and voila! You have your personalized pouch!

IMG_1713

IMG_1711

This was extremely simple to make and is a great gift, so I definitely see myself making more of these in the future! There are a couple of changes I plan to make though:
1) In my construction pictures you’ll notice that the fabric is larger than the interfacing. I did this so my seams would be around but not on the interfacing. I think however, that sewing on the interfacing gives the pouch more structure, so I’ll be making them the same size.
2) I sewed very close to the zipper (I’m not really sure why), which causes it to get stuck every so often, so I won’t be doing that next time!
3) My final alteration is to change how I sew the letters. Though they look fine this way, I want to try using the button stitch to get a thicker and neater line. Hopefully this will give the pouch a more finished look.

Keep a look out for “The Personalized Pouch” Part 2!

~Abby

Leave a Reply

