Hummus Recipe

Hummus

I absolutely love hummus, and I decided to start making my own to customize it to my own taste and always have it on hand. I must say, this recipe is quite delicious!

 

 

 

 

 


I. Love. Hummus. I started eating it most everyday when I went vegan, and even though I’m back to eating like a normal person, I can’t stop eating hummus! As a result, I figured I should start making my own instead of buying tons and tons of (expensive) hummus from the store. After trying out a few recipes from Pinterest, I finally found a concoction that works well for me.

Hummus.png


Hummus

Ingredients:

1 can garbanzo beans*
1/4 cup olive oil
1 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1 1/2 tsp. cumin powder
1 tsp. Greek seasoning
juice from 1/2 lemon
salt and pepper to taste (I use about three shakes of each)

*You will need some of the bean juice, so I suggest draining the can first and then adding small amounts of bean juice until you get the desired consistency.

Instructions:

Combine ingredients in blender/food processor (I used my NutriBullet), and blend until everything is throughly mixed. Bon appetit!


As I mentioned above, I cannot stop eating hummus, and I often eat it with crackers or veggies, on toast, in sandwiches, and sometimes I’ll just take a spoonful of it for a quick snack! Hummus is a great recipe to experiment with as you can easily subtract and add different spices and flavors to create completely different tastes. I hope to try a red pepper or dried tomato recipe soon. What is your favorite flavor of hummus?

~Abby

Leave a Reply

