Smoothies

IMG_1116

One of my favorite snacks to have is smoothies. They’re versatile in what you can put in them, so you can cater them to your cravings mood. Today I’m going to share two smoothies; one of them is my go-to smoothie and the other was an experimental special treat. They both turned out absolutely delicious!

 

 

 

 


IMG_1135

First is my go-to smoothie. When I’m at home and have access to my treasured NutriBullet*, I usually make these at least three times a week. It’s my favorite because I can throw in whatever fruit and vegetables I have (fresh or frozen!) and it always turns out delicious. There are some key ingredients though, which are crucial to the perfect smoothie.

IMG_1130

To make this beautiful creation or a similar variation, start out with one banana and a large handful of spinach. I love using the NutriBullet for smoothies because it pulverizes the more fibrous fruits/veggies into a smoothie texture, so ingredients like orange pulp and spinach aren’t a problem!

IMG_1101

After adding the banana and spinach, I’ll check my freezer for any frozen fruits I have. Many recipes say to only use fresh fruit if possible, but the frozen fruit makes the smoothie a little thicker, and it allows me to add fruit that isn’t in season. (Adding ice also makes the smoothie thicker). Β For this smoothie, I used frozen blueberries and peaches. (Another great thing about the NutriBullet is that if there are any ingredients you don’t really like, such as blueberries in my case, they all blend together so you can’t taste any individual ingredient, so you get the nutrients but not the taste!).

Finally, I added my fresh fruit to the mix. I love adding a bit of citrus with an orange or a bit of tang with pineapple. If you’re looking to add some more vegetables, go ahead! I’ve added carrots and broccoli before, and it still tasted absolutely delicious.

Blend it all up and enjoy!

IMG_1135

 

Next on the list is a slightly sweeter concoction that honestly tastes like dessert, but is in fact very healthy! I had seen similar recipes on Pinterest, and decided to experiment and create my own Peanut Butter Chocolate Smoothie, which I turned into an ice cream-like texture with my Zoku* maker.

IMG_1104

If there were such a thing as a “family food”, my family’s would be ice cream. We love ice cream, and as a result I’m pretty picky; don’t give me any cheap sherbet, I want the real cream with real flavor stuff. I was unsure if my creation would pass the test, but once the spoonful entered my mouth, more spoonfuls quickly followed. It’s so good (and so healthy), I would easily pass up a bowl of real ice cream for a serving of my Peanut Butter Chocolate Smoothie.

Smoothie Cover

This recipe only requires a few ingredients: 1 cup Chocolate (Soy)Milk, 3-4 Tb Peanut Butter, and 2 bananas. I quickly blended these ingredients together in my NutriBullet, taste tested, and then poured into my Zoku maker. If you’re not familiar with it, Zoku is like a big cup you stick in the freezer for a while, and after the freezing liquid (there’s probably an actual name for it) freezes, you can pour liquid into it and make a milkshake/frozen smoothie by scraping the sides of the Zoku every couple minutes. (More instructions here). The process takes about 15 minutes, but it is well worth the wait! My milkshake/ice cream turned out great on the first try, and it was quite the treat eating (healthy) ice cream for breakfast!

Hopefully this post has given you some inspiration to go experiment with your blender, NutriBullet, and/or Zoku maker! There are so many different recipes available to follow or create, and I personally can’t wait to keep trying them all. What kind of smoothies are you making?

~Abby

 

*This post is not sponsored, and all opinions are my own!*

Leave a Reply

