My Happiness Project: Mirrors

Mirrors Cover

What if I told you that looking in the mirror could increase your self-love and happiness? It’s possible by just changing one small thing: smiling. Seeing a happy face when you look at your reflection starts your day off in a more positive way, and you’ll find yourself smiling even more throughout the day.

 

 

 

 


For many people, mirrors aren’t a source of happiness. We look at our reflections, and our eyes are immediately drawn to the tiny flaws; they are all that we see. Different people see different flaws: body image, facial features, fashion sense … Everyone has something about them that seems magnified in the mirror.

For me, it was how much I didn’t look like the “ideal me”. When I caught my reflection, I was rarely smiling, I thought my clothes looked frumpy, and I’d find some part of my body that wasn’t the exact shape I wanted it to be. Seeing myself unhappy made me feel unhappy. There were so many things not to like, how was I ever going to love myself?

Then I made one simple change: I now smile whenever I look in the mirror.

It may seem like a insignificant detail that wouldn’t make a difference, but it’s created a world of difference in my life. When I see myself looking happy, I feel happy. Audrey Hepburn once said, “The happiest girls are the prettiest girls,” and I firmly believe in that philosophy. When I see myself happy, even when I have to fake it, I feel happier. I feel more beautiful. I feel more positive. As I focus on displaying happiness and self-love, my whole life seems a bit brighter. All from a simple smile in the morning mirror.

When I make a point to smile, I’m turning the negative activity of looking into the mirror into a positive one.

So, now I’m issuing you a challenge. Try smiling at yourself in the mirror. Or make a funny face. Dance around, strike a pose! Have fun in front of the mirror. I find that when I smile in the mirror, I smile more during the day. There is always a reason to smile, and happiness looks good on you. 🙂

~Abby

P.S. This post is part of My Happiness Project, where I focus on and change different habits to create a happier lifestyle and a happier me.

 

A joyful heart is good medicine.      Proverbs 17:22 

A happy heart makes the face cheerful.      Proverbs 15:13  
 
A cheerful look brings joy to the heart, and good news gives health to the bones.      Proverbs 15:30

I will forget my complaint, I will change my expression, and smile.       Job 9:27

Leave a Reply

