Why I Want to be an English Teacher in a Foreign Country

Cover Pic 4

After college, I hope to travel to Haiti and teach English there for a few years. After that, I may do the same in other countries. Here’s what gave me that passion.

 

 

 

 

 

 


After college, I hope to travel to Haiti and teach English there for a few years. After that, I may do the same in other countries like Thailand or a European country. This plan only entered my mind a little while ago, but the passion and determination I have to make it a reality makes me think that perhaps this is God’s plan for me. He’s blessed me in ways like growing up speaking English and giving me opportunities to visit Haiti that pave the way for my dream to teach English. Since I was little, I’ve always thought of what I want to do after college. From being a firefighter (in Kindergarten) to an interior designer (9th grade), I envisioned myself being these things, but always quickly found a different occupation that captured my fancy. Teaching English in a foreign country doesn’t seem to be as grandiose as being a famous interior designer, but because of the following reasons, there’s no way I’d want to do anything else.

The main reasons I hope to teach English in a foreign country come from my experiences in Haiti. While there, I realized that my home isn’t limited to the United States or the state I live in. God created the world to be my home. Not exploring the world is like eating peanut butter and jelly sandwiches my entire life: it’s enough to live off of, and it has good flavors, but I would be missing out on so many other delicious flavors and textures. The thought of seeing new places and experiencing new cultures stirs that inner natural desire to explore. Some people call it wanderlust or fernweh (German). God used His full creativity here on earth, and I want to go experience it.

My trips to Haiti influenced me in another way too. During my last trip, we happened across an English class at the school we were working at and were able to participate in the class, asking and answering questions in English. At the time, they were learning family relations and how to ask questions, so there are some random Haitians who know the names of all my family members. Though it was a bit weird being asked my father’s name over and over again, the time spent in that classroom was a great example of how a typical Haitian classroom runs and looks like. I saw the workbooks they use and the desks they sit at. That was my second time being in an Haitian classroom, and I was again amazed at how eager all the students are to learn. My passion to teach english is inspired by one student in particular. His name is Luidji. He’s a young teenager who hung around us almost 24/7, playing foutbòl, listening to us talk, and learning English from us. He often carried around his school notebook filled with English words, phrases, and homework. Twice he asked us to write down advanced English words (and I translated them into French), and once I accidentally did his English homework for him. He was always eager to learn and sharpen his skills in the english language. Right before we left, I asked him to write me a letter in French/Creole. In it, he said he hopes to come to the United States one day, become a doctor, and help poverty-striken/developing countries.

I could go on and on about how amazing Luidji is, but just seeing how an opportunity to learn English and go to the United States could not only change his life, but it could change the lives of so many others gives me my passion to go teach English. I once wanted to become famous so I could impact a whole lot of people. But now I see that empowering others can create an impact far greater than I could ever make on my own. Growing up in an English speaking, American family was a great blessing that I can use for God’s purpose. Teaching English isn’t exactly going door to door to spread the Gospel, but by committing whatever I do to the LORD, I can serve Him and be a part of His great plan. Everything is of God, whether we humans admit it or not, and I think my gifts are best used sharing my language and culture in foreign countries.

Besides Haiti, my desire to teach in foreign countries is founded in two amazing language teachers that’ve shared their language and culture with me. My last two French teachers showed me the impact teaching a language could have. Both Dr. C and Dr. P were extremely caring persons: whether from sharing the French language and culture or just being caring people I’m not sure. They always went out of their way to help students with not only academic factors, but personal ones too. Numerous times I was offered a ride home from staying after school, and both were always available and willing to talk about school or life. Their intense enthusiasm motivated me to do my best, and with every assignment and test, I wanted to do well for them. Sharing the French language and culture obviously meant a great deal to them, and they’ve opened up the world for me as my first exposures to the incredible diversity out there. It’s because of them, their enthusiasm for sharing and their care for their students, that I want to share my language and culture with others.

It’s not exactly becoming famous or preaching the gospel on a street corner, but going to teach English has become a fiery passion inside, and I think it’s what God has planned for me. He’s laid down the path and now all I have to do is follow. Throughout all of this, the verse I keep in mind is Proverbs 16:3.

“Commit to the LORD whatever you do, and He will establish your plans.”

~Abby

Leave a Reply

