My Rain Gear

DSW & Lands' End Rain Gear Review

I had never needed rain boots or a rain jacket before coming to college. An umbrella was always sufficient, but after some heavy rain caused a flood earlier in the semester, I decided it was time for some new rain gear.

 

 

 

 

 

 


When I looked outside my window last week and saw the rain coming down, I was so glad I had my new rain gear. I had never needed rain boots or a rain jacket before coming to college. An umbrella was always sufficient, but after some heavy rain caused a flood earlier in the semester, I decided it was time for some new rain gear.

DSW & Lands' End Rain Gear Review

I’ve never been particularly fond of rain jackets for some reason, so when I picked out this Lands’ End Storm Raker Jacket*, I wasn’t sure if I’d ever actually wear it, especially since it was yellow. But when I put it on the next gray, drizzly day, I fell in love with it and wore it for three days straight! It’s extremely comfortable, and I ordered a long, so it fits me nicely. The middle can be cinched tighter (middle left picture) or left loose (middle center picture), it has buttons and a zipper, and a hood that actually goes over my head and shields my face from the rain. It also retains warmth: I once went out in forty degree weather with only a t-shirt under the jacket, and I stayed warm all the way to my destination. I’ve found that I actually really enjoy the yellow color too, as I stick out on campus and look a lot happier than most of my fellow peers walking through the downpour.

The second part of my rain outfit are my Chooka Rain Boots* from DSW. I got these a few weeks earlier than my rain jacket after I ruined a pair of my favorite shoes walking through the puddles on campus. I’ve never owned a pair of boots before, let alone rain boots, and I’ve been quite pleased with how well they fit and how comfortable they are. They’re functional and stylish and aren’t awkward to walk in. My one complaint would be that they are a little tight on the sides of my feet (where my pinkie toe is) and I receive a blister about the size of a penny every time I wear them. With thicker socks though, it doesn’t seem to be too much of a problem.

Overall, I am satisfied and happy with my new rain gear, and can’t wait for the next rainy day so I can pull my jacket and boots out of my closet and stylishly dance through the puddles on my way to class.

Lands’ End Storm Raker Jacket: comfortable, warm (sometimes a bit too warm), good length, fits just right

Chooka Rain Boots: very comfy, function well, good length (a bit long, but I like it that way), a bit narrow

**UPDATE: After having the Chooka Rain Boots for about two months (I’ve probably worn them between 6-12 times) I noticed tears in the rubber on the right boot. Similar tears are appearing on the left boot in the same areas. So while very cute and comfortable, the quality is lacking, and I will be returning the boots and searching for a better pair.

*This post is not sponsored, and all opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

