What is College?

IMG_9229

Well, I can officially say that I am a college student now. It’s crazy writing those words because they have so much meaning behind them. As a high schooler, college meant the next level of school. Just another four years. But having gone through two months of college, it now represents so much more.

 

 

 


So what is college?

College is:

  • A new start
  • Putting myself out there by talking more
  • Having no friends
  • Trying to fit all my stuff in smaller spaces
  • Conversations about drugs and alcohol
  • Finding boundaries
  • Discovering the environment
  • Learning people’s names
  • Sore legs from all those hills
  • Figuring out the dining halls
  • Having close acquaintances
  • Being invited to a party
  • Fearful loneliness
  • Crying when no one’s around
  • Laughing with my hallmates
  • Finding where to sit in class
  • Late nights and early mornings
  • Figuring out the gym system
  • Oatmeal raisin cookies
  • Having friends
  • Being myself
  • Homesickness
  • Skype-ing with friend and family
  • Using my own money
  • The sunrises and sunsets
  • My relationship with God
  • Figuring things out on my own
  • Blue skies on the green Quad
  • A bad test, and a good one
  • Getting into the rhythm of things
  • Figuring out the bus system
  • School events
  • Wearing purple shirts
  • Wearing flip flops in the shower
  • Bowls of corn at 12am
  • Having fun
  • Personalizing the room
  • Cleaning the bathroom
  • Selecting my friends
  • Enjoying life
  • Feeling loved, accepted, and belonging

So yes, I am enjoying college very much, and though there are ups as well as downs, I am glad and excited to be here. Now that I’ve settled in more, I hope to post more often! So until next time!

IMG_9229

Leave a Reply

