Jacket on, Jacket off

I love it when God teaches me not only through the Bible, but also in the world surrounding me. A few days ago I was watching “The Karate Kid” (the 2010 version). During the movie, the repetitive action of picking up the jacket, putting on the jacket, taking off the jacket, and hanging up the jacket seemed to not have a purpose to Dre, but unbeknownst to him, it was strengthing him. He was resentful of the days and days of hanging up his jacket, but after he realized what the activity was doing for him, he found a drive to do his best and become better, and he no longer resented the repetitive practice. It struck me that this is kind of like our journey with God sometimes. We’re stuck doing the same thing over and over (such as work or school), and we grumble and mumble because it doesn’t seem to have a purpose. Yet, all the while God uses the activity to strengthen us to prepare us for the trials ahead. It seems like it would be easier if God just told us in the beginning what His goal was, but then we may not have the appreciation of the hard work we have to put in. And it wouldn’t be a test of our trust in Him. 

The lesson I’m taking from this is that I need to keep going and not quit. These humdrum days of high school are coming to an end, and if I don’t give it my all, then I may not be strong enough when God reveals His plan and sends me to the next level of training (aka college). So jacket on, jacket off, put it down, pick it up. 

One thought on “Jacket on, Jacket off

  1. blmaluso says:

    “We’re stuck doing the same thing over and over (such as work or school), and we grumble and mumble because it doesn’t seem to have a purpose. Yet, all the while God uses the activity to strengthen us to prepare us for the trials ahead.”

    Such wisdom…and something I needed to hear this morning:-) Thank you.

    Blessings and love to you,
    Bernadette

Leave a Reply

