The 2015 Haircut

On the outside, it’s just a haircut. But on the inside, it’s a whole new me.

It’s the beginning of a new year, and most people are making some sort of resolutions or goals or plans for their upcoming year. Everyone’s trying to change for the better. To make a new start.

Well, I’ve jumped on board.

As I mentioned in a previous post, 2015 is a huge year for me including high school graduation, my first real job, and entering into college as the big three. I’m already a grown-up, but I’m actually starting to enter into the grown-up world. It’s scary, and I didn’t feel like I was ready to make the transition.

So I got a haircut.

I probably haven’t mentioned this, but I have super long hair. Sorry, had. I’m a tall girl, and my hair was down to my bum, so about two and a half foot long hair. It was long. But now, it’s really short! I cut off about 14 inches to donate, and I couldn’t be happier right now.

Is this post really all about a haircut? you may be wondering. Well, on a basic level … yes. But I’m trying to convey something deeper, so just hold on for a second. Now, hair is part of outward appearance, correct? And females are generally more aware of their outward appearances, agreed? Well, I am a female, a young female, and I do care about how I appear. Not obsessed, just observant. I care about how I look, and I fashion myself to reflect my personality. About a month ago, I started to get agitated with my hair. No longer was my messy bun “cool”, but instead it was a tangly, frizzled, annoying mess. While it used to reflect my dancer roots as a hyper teenager, it wasn’t really working for the adult me. Also, what’s the point of having long hair if a) I didn’t enjoy it and b) it was in a bun 98% of the time.

So this haircut in a way, is a psychological release of the past and a welcoming of the new year. I feel free and happy swishing my short hair around, and I’m happy inside because as a “changed” me, I’m ready to tackle this new and very important year.

So yes, this post is all about a haircut. But it was also about the change I’ve gone through and the confidence I have facing this new year and the new and intimidating challenges that it’s going to bring. I gained confidence and a happy spirit. Do you need a haircut?

2 thoughts on “The 2015 Haircut

  1. Katie A says:

    Ahhhhhh I wanna see pics! You’re so brave! I hope 2015 is awesome! I know that everyone tells you this but ENJOY IT because it will fly by!

Leave a Reply

