A Pretty Awesome Day

Today, was a pretty awesome day.

It’s been a long time since I last wrote on here because my goal for the past months (and for forever in the future!) is to be more vulnerable with those around me, which in my case mostly means talking more. As a result of being more open with those around me, I haven’t been posting as much on here, which is where I previously let out whatever was happening inside my head. Today though, was a pretty awesome day, and I want to share my day and what’s been happening in my life so that perhaps I can spread some hope and light and joy.

Let’s start with my life in general.

I’m in my senior year of high school (yay!ahhhh!what?!?!woah!hurray!boohoo!) which is super crazy and hard, but I’m mostly enjoying it nonetheless. My biggest struggle in school is math, but it’s on a (slow) upward trend. My favorite subject is probably French. Or English. Or both. It’s mostly because of the teachers, who genuinely care for me and enthusiastically create a positive and fun learning invironment. Outside of school, I’m not really doing many activities right now. Swim team will be starting up in less than a month (yay!) which I absolutely cannot wait for. Last year, I really found my wings and a passion in swimming. I need to start working out because the season will start before I know it! More exciting news, I’M EIGHTEEN!!!! Woohoo! I can vote and do stuff without my parents’ permission! (Don’t worry, I still listen to them. They do feed me and such, ya know!). I’ve also sent off two college applications, which was absolutely terrifying, and I’m still working on a few others. I’ve been getting back into writing after not writing for quite a few months, and it’s … I don’t know how to really describe it. Relief? Joy? Excitement? I don’t know, but I’m really enjoying getting back into the habit of doing something I love. The last thing about my life is that it’s been really rough for the past month, like, really, really rough. I kind of went to a new kind of really dark place, but I’ve slowly been finding my hope and joy and life again.

Now, on to today!

Today was … the best day I’ve had in a long time. It didn’t start off the greatest (I had a super long and super hard IB physics test), but after that, it was unbelievably and undeservedly amazing. In orchestra, I found out that I am now second chair in my section! For non-instrumental people, that’s the (supposedly) second-best of the section. This really means a lot because I’m in the top orchestra (the Sinfonia Orchestra) and it’s been a struggle, but I’ve been practicing really hard and I am so happy that my hard work paid off! In my next class, which consists of seminars every day, I talked twice! I know this doesn’t seem like a huge accomplishment, but I rarely talk in that class, largely due to the lack of my friends in that class, but I stepped out of my comfort zone a bit and practiced vulnerability! After that, it was math class. (Dun dun dunnnnn!). We were getting our tests back, and I was praying for a good grade so that I could salvage my horrible overall grade. I was pleasantly surprised when I got back my test and did reasonably well, aka super well compared to how I had previously been doing. I’m only two points away from the next grade up! It gave me a lot of hope that I can succeed, and that God really can work miracles. The last two great things about my day today were 1) it was a gorgeous fall day and the wind made my hair look windswept-fabulous! and 2) I wore one of my comfiest, cutest, favoritest outfits, and everyone loved it, which made me feel good inside!

This is only a small fraction of what’s happening right now, but I think it’s sufficient for now. I think I might be posting a little more frequently than I have been (maybe not every day, but perhaps once a week?). Instead of releasing negative internal stuff, maybe I’ll start just releasing the positive internal stuff because everyone needs a little positivity, I have a lot of positive things happening right now, and my friends could probably use a break from me telling them how awesome life is right now in the midst of college applications and stressful school stuff. Anyways, that’s all for now folks! I hope you have a super duper wonderfully amazing day!

P.S. Whoever is exploding my blog stats right now, you are making me very happy too!

Leave a Reply

