Being Vulnerable

I’m going to tell the truth: I’ve almost shut down this blog at least three times. During those times, I felt like it wasn’t impacting anyone, it was losing meaning to myself, and it was just pointless. But when I come back to it after a month of not posting and I see that people have commented or followed or liked something, it keeps me from giving up. Yes, I’m not posting as much as I used to, but I think it’s because I’m going through a change in my life. I’ve been working on being more vulnerable (Daring Greatly by BrenΓ© Brown) and there have been a great many changes in my life. I’ve known for a long time that this blog was my hideaway spot. I could come here and say what I wanted, and nobody that actually knew me would know. Yet, as I’ve been becoming more vulnerable with those people in my life, I’ve found that I no longer need to come here and speak my thoughts. I can do that with the people in my life.

Vulnerability is so important, because when nobody practices vulnerability and opens up, everyone feels alone in their struggles. Here’s an example: when I started my study on vulnerability, I thought I was just an oddball human struggling with shame. But then a few weeks later, my pastor gave a sermon on how everyone struggles with shame. That blew my mind. Everyone? Then why was no one talking about it?! It’s because no one was vulnerable enough.

So, that’s why I’m here. To be vulnerable. Once one person starts being vulnerable and opening up, I hope it will be like a domino effect where one by one more and more people start to be free with who they are. So, I won’t be posting as much on this blog because I’m starting to open up in the real world, but I won’t be deleting this blog. Because now I am no longer hiding here, but instead using it to hopefully impact people all over the world.

Leave a Reply

