One Week; One Month

I have one week until I go to Centrifuge (Jesus Camp) and one month until my mission trip to Haiti! I’m super excited, but also a little apprehensive. What’s going to happen?

Last summer when I went to Centrifuge, I had expectations. It was going to be just like the previous summer, and God was going to answer this and this. Well, it didn’t happen that way. I’m a bit ashamed to say this, but I near cried when things started going “wrong”. However, I realized that God had chosen right (surprise surprise) and my week turned out as good as it did the previous year if not better. I learned some stuff, sang some songs, and had the time of my life.

For mission trips, last year I went for the second time to Southwest Virginia. There, my youth group and I did construction on impoverished housing. It was a lot of fun with completely new experiences and some of the old. This time though, I’m going to Haiti. I’m actually going to Haiti. I’ve prayed to go on this trip for about two years. And now I’m actually going. It’s pretty impossible to set expectations because a) I’ve never flown on a plane. That’ll be exciting b) I’ve therefore never left the country before. Ahhhh! c) Haiti is completely different from anything I’ve ever experienced. It’s hopefully going to be a wonderful time, but I know I’ll be pushed to my limits and beyond on this trip. I can’t wait to go though!

One of the best parts about these trips is that I get to experience them with my youth group. They’re a great bunch of guys and girls, and to share these life changing events with them is just plain amazing. God’s work. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

