Capturing my Blessings

Wow! It’s November already, and I haven’t written a post in a long time. It’s kind of weird how that’s been happening, but I’ll save that for later. For today, I want to tell ya’ll about something I’m doing to celebrate Thanksgiving. Let’s begin with last year.

Last November, my pastor gave the church a challenge. Maybe more of a mission. He told us that he wanted us to try and record 1,000 things that we were thankful for (what we were eucharistic for), in the four weeks leading up to Thanksgiving. It seemed like an easy task, right? Just 250 words a week. Well, in total, I reached 249. In four weeks. From those facts I seemingly failed, but what I gained throughout that experience was pretty cool. What I gained was awareness. My senses were sharpened to the blessings God gives me, and I saw blessings everywhere! At the end of the day, I didn’t accomplish the numbers, but I accomplished the spirituality.

With that in mind, let me tell you what I’m doing this year. Wanting to do something similar to last year and become more aware of my blessings, I decided to take one picture a day (a picture speaks a thousand words, right?), and post it to Instagram with a small description as to why I’m so thankful. I started a bit late, but already I’m on the lookout for the multitude of God’s gifts. I’m so thankful for everything, it’s hard to only choose one thing!

Sometimes “thankful posts” can become annoying, but when written in earnesty, they can be beneficial for the author at least. I hope you find some way to show God your thanks during these few weeks leading up to Thanksgiving. Blessings!

One thought on “Capturing my Blessings

Leave a Reply

