Without the mirror

I feel like so many times, I live by my outwards appearance. Like I’m just a moving picture. Today I discovered a picture of me when I was in preschool. I must say, I was as cute as can be. In the past few months, I’ve been realizing what a beautiful daughter of God I’ve become. But there’s one thing about this that isn’t quite right. Oftentimes I enjoy making faces at myself in the mirror; I let out my inner silliness and joy. The downside to this is that when I step out from in front of that mirror, I leave my personality behind. I don’t know what I look like, and I don’t live inside of myself. At least not consciously.

I have no clue if any of this is making any sense, but I need to come up with a solution. I could stop looking in mirrors for a while, but I don’t think that’s quite the right solution. Being more aware and consciously living in the moment? Yeah, that’s a possibility. I’m not quite certain if I can come up with a solution because I’m not totally sure what the problem is. Until I find out, I’ll just try to constantly be the beautiful daughter of God that He’s created me to be.

Leave a Reply

