Help me?

I need some help. My last two posts have been about me wanting to have a Christian lifestyle, but I really don’t know how to start. I need someone to tell me that there is joy and excitement in a Christian life. Another thing is, do I have the right definition of a Christian lifestyle? When I think of a strong Christian living a Christian lifestyle, I see them praying a lot and doing devotions all day long, every day. Their life is Christian and they take time off to do other stuff (of which I have no clear definition of my use of the word “stuff”). In my mind, they seem constantly in conversation with God, in their own little perfect world. Pure optimism, the whole shabang. But I don’t really know anyone that lives that way. I mean, I see plenty of Christians that have the life of a Christian, but I see them take time to have a moment with God. Other times they just seem like a good person with Christian morals. So, is my definition wrong? I’m really confused. I’m definitely going to consult my Bible, but I still need some help. I can’t do this on my own, and I’m afraid that I’m going to mess it all up.

4 thoughts on “Help me?

  1. Allen O'Brien says:

    Sometimes the Christian life seems like a roller coaster, with it’s ups and downs. Everyone is at different places in their faith and their lives, and your worry is perfectly normal. The best advice I could hope to give is probably this:

    Jesus didn’t always hang out with his disciples. Sure, they spent some pretty awesome moments together, saw him do amazingly miraculous things, and relaxed with him at dinner, but that wasn’t all the time. Jesus sent them out to do stuff without him (like in Luke chapter 10). I think our lives are kind of like that – we get to have some pretty sweet moments with God, but sometimes its just enough to keep us going. We live our lives as God has given them to us, as Christians. We do the normal stuff, we enjoy life, and we do it with the strength that we get from those occasional moments of deep connection with God.

    One more thing- I like to think about the fact that God is everywhere, almost like everything in the universe exists inside of God. That way, even when I’m doing “normal” stuff, it isn’t really normal after all. Everything is spiritual.

    Enjoy regular life as much as possible, cherish those super-normal moments that God connects with you in a special way, and don’t lose hope that God will make everything right in the end.

    • Abby R says:

      Thank you very much for you guiding words! It gives me hope that I don’t have to be a super spiritual person every single moment of the day. Thank you so much!

  2. notsosupergirl says:

    Dear Abby,
    There is joy and excitement in a Christian life, many times, we have the wrong idea of strong Christians. Yes, we see them as devout, pious people, but is that all to being a Christian? God never calls a Christian to be in their own perfect world. They should be single-minded in pursuit of God’s will for their life, but creating a “holy island” was never intended. We are called to be in the world, but not of it. “Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.” Romans 12:2. The hardest thing is to balance the amount of time we spend with people of the world. It’s dangerous to become so close to Christian friends and do so many Christian activities that you create a small holy island for yourself and only Christian things are allowed in. Sadly, the people who are the “strongest” Christians are the ones who seem to be the most isolated. It is impossible to reach people for Christ by staying aloof from things happening in the world.

    A Christian lifestyle doesn’t have to be boring, but once again, somber people seem more religious than the rest of us. It’s never true. David was a man after God’s own heart and look at him here: “The whole country was with him as he accompanied the Chest of God with shouts and trumpet blasts. But as the Chest of God came into the City of David, Michal, Saul’s daughter, happened to be looking out a window. When she saw King David leaping and dancing before God, her heart filled with scorn…David replied to Michal, “In God’s presence I’ll dance all I want! He chose me over your father and the rest of our family and made me prince over God’s people, over Israel. Oh yes, I’ll dance to God’s glory—more recklessly even than this. And as far as I’m concerned . . . I’ll gladly look like a fool . . .” 2 Samuel 6:16, 22 (MSG)

    As for us, we have such a reason to be glad, dance, and look like fools to the rest of the world; we have been set free! From death, from hell, the ultimate price has been paid, and that is nothing to sit and ponder about seriously- it is a reason to rejoice. We enter the presence of God singing, because he is amazing. Being a Christian never has to be lifeless. If all Christians were boring, what would that make Christ seem like? I suppose he would be tasteless as well.

    For optimism, being optimistic all the time isn’t Christ-like, just like being pessimistic isn’t Christ-like. Being too optimistic clouds your view of how things really are. I’m an optimistic person myself, it’s hard to say it, but honestly, the world isn’t rose-colored like I would like to believe. We don’t live in a perfect fairy world, but just because we don’t, doesn’t give us a reason to put clouds of doom and despair over it. There has to be a balance between reality and hope. Hope always, because God can do anything, but never be so caught up in optimism that you forget the world is hurting.

    We need to have our minds focused on Jesus and following after what he asks of us, but we can’t get so caught up in “doing Christian things” that we forget who exactly we are doing them for. Prayer is good, devotions are good, but just because you do those things doesn’t make you a follower of Christ. God will take you on the adventure of a lifetime, every second that you allow him control of the things in your life. God has created you the way you are to impact the people around you. The way God calls you to life out a “Christian lifestyle” is going to be slightly different from person to person, just as the way he relates to each one of us is different. Keep seeking after what he has called you to do; I hope this helped some 🙂

    Praying for You,
    Mackenzie

Leave a Reply

