What’s a Hobby?

I’ve begun to collect sunglasses. Yeah, I know it’s kinda weird, but it’s a hobby and I needed a hobby. I’ve got three colors of the rainbow: red, orange, and blue. It seems kind of desperate to make a hobby of collecting sunglasses, but it’s actually kind of fun, and it’s sort of a test run on what a hobby should be like. In fact, I wasn’t so sure what a hobby was, so I looked it up. Here’s the definition:

Noun: An activity done regularly in one’s leisure time for pleasure.

I would definitely say that collecting sunglasses fits the definition of a hobby.

That got me thinking though. Is meditating/interacting with God a hobby? Meditating and such should be done regularly, and God expects us to do it all the time. The joy that comes from being close to God is surely a pleasure too! The thing that trips me up is the “leisure time”. God isn’t just for the easy times. He’s not just for the hard times either. He’s for all the times. So, I guess God isn’t a hobby, but He’s definitely a lifestyle. He’s not something I find pleasure from, He’s where I find life.

In him was life; and the life was the light of men. -John 1:4

Leave a Reply

