So It’s a Date?

Wow. I basically just got asked out. He was quite persuasive too. But I said no. Partially. My parents won’t allow me to date until I’m 18, but I’m allowed to go out in groups. So this guy’s next alternative? Get a group together. And that’s just what we did.

I don’t really want to talk about the specifics of the “asking out”, but I do want to write about how it made me feel. A guy basically asking me out isn’t something super new, but it’s rare and so it catches me by surprise. Am I really that amazing? I mean, I have a pretty messed up life and a pretty low self-confidence level. I just don’t see what’s in me that makes them like me. Except God. The two latest guys have both been from my youth group. Hmmm … connection? I hope it is God that attracts them because anything else attracting them would be not right. God creates all relationships. Building a foundation on God creates an everlasting relationship. Mind as well start early.

Last year, when I “fell in love” with someone, God became second. The guy basically took over all of my thoughts and actions. Once I realized this, I went through the painful detachment of trying to get over him. It was so hard. Even to this day, when I see him walk through the hallways at school, my heart gives a little flutter. Widely publicized to many students, the intense friendship me and that guy formed was far from based on God. And so it didn’t work out, which I am extremely glad for. He’s a super nice guy, but a dating relationship would have ruined a lot of both of our lives.

So this new guy. He’s super cool and very noticed by the girls in my youth group. Some have called me lucky that he “likes” me. He’s trying to ask me on a date. What do I do? I friendzone him. Like every other guy that’s come along my path since last year. If God wants me in a relationship, it’ll happen. Until then, let’s just be friends.

One thought on “So It’s a Date?

  1. blmaluso says:

    Abby, I really love reading your posts. It’s been a long time since I was 16, and it’s refreshing to know the thoughts and the journey that you are experiencing. As long as you keep your eyes and heart open to Jesus, you will be guided in the right direction. Stay true to Jesus and the unique soul/person that you are. You will touch many hearts with your honesty and love.

Leave a Reply

