Useless

If you feel like you are useless, read this. If you feel like you don’t fit into any category, then read this. I’ve been struggling with feelings useless for a while. I’ve been drowning under the doubt and pitifulness. I didn’t try to remove it, I just kept trudging through. But today, my friend sent me a text describing how I felt exactly, but he was describing himself. He was feeling useless. It’s an epidemic that is attacking us Christians and we need to stop it. Don’t believe me? Well, here’s the text that I got.

Hey Abby. So I was meditating and something somewhere inside me snapped. Idk what it is, but like I kinda feel like i guess how you’ve felt. I feel useless. Like, a lot of people are academic, or musical, or athletic, artistic, or whatever. But when I think of myself i don’t feel i fit in any category. I classified myself as “other” for the longest time. But what is other? Am I meant for something other than what I mentioned? Or is “other” a nice way for saying empty or nothing? I can’t play an instrument or throw a perfect spiral, or get straight A’s or paint a great scenario,build a computer by scratch or sing like an angel, stand up and give a motivational speech. I couldn’t even stop my friend from cutting himself and getting into drinking. Idk. Am I just overthinking everything? Maybe a bit crazy?

This is exactly what he wrote. Can you not see the horror of feeling useless? It is the scariest thing that drags on our souls. Without feeling a purpose of life, what is the point of life? That is why so many youth damage themselves. They can’t find their purpose and they feel useless. I don’t know what I’m supposed to do, or where I’m supposed to be, but this was my reply text:

I definitely know how you’re feeling. I still feel that way sometimes. We’re not useless, but instead a baker doing the plumber’s job, metaphorically. There’s some cateogory that we fit in, and it’s gotta be super special because it’s not obvious and common. That is what keeps me going. Jeremiah 29:11. Look it up, read it, and memorize it. God has a special plan for us two. We’re going to fail and let him down, but instead of dwelling on failures which will slowly kill us, we need to realize that life is a learning experience. Even if you don’t feel proud, life up your head and show the world your scars. We have conquered the world because we know Jesus.

I’m not sure what reaction this creates, but I’ve gotta say that this isn’t the cure to the disease. This is only medicine to prolong out death. What we need is something to show us that we’re not useless. Millions of youth around the world are feeling the cold bars of uselessness. I decided it was time to speak up. You may not think that you can help, but you can. Pray. Prayers are powerful. Prayers work. Please pray for the useless. Please pray for us all over the world. For us.

“For I know the plans I have for you,’ declareth the LORD, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you a hope and a future.” -Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

