Death

I keep having the dream about me being involved in a drive-by shooting and dying. Now, I’m already at peace with dying and wouldn’t mind going up to heaven, but I know that whenever I do die, I’ll be leaving a lot of grieving people behind; especially if I die young. I don’t want them to grieve, but with death comes sadness. Anyways, I want to give them some hope before I go. I’ve already left clues and stuff in my journals and on this blog. I just want to help them see how wonderful it is for me that I’m going to heaven. Because I know that I will.

Something that came to my mind actually just a little while ago (I’m not sure why not earlier), is the thought of someone else really close dying. If either of my parents died, I would be devastated. My whole life would turn completely upside down. I really don’t know how me and the rest of my family would cope with it. It’s just….horrible to think about.

I know all of this is going to be a problem because everyone will eventually die and I highly doubt that everyone I love will die on the same day. I’m fearful of the grief and sadness that will come. I’ve had a couple deaths already (none in my close family, but still good friends) and it was sad and such, but nothing that completely rocked my life. Just a normal or expected passing. How can the topic of death be so inviting, but so repelling at the same time?

Here are a bunch of verses I looked up. They’re a little comforting and will probably be more so when the time comes.

2 Samuel 12:23 But now he is dead. Why should I fast? Can I bring him back again? I shall go to him, but he will not return to me.” (King David speaking of his infant son who died)

Romans 14:8 For if we live, we live to the Lord, and if we die, we die to the Lord. So then, whether we live or whether we die, we are the Lord’s.

John 14:1-4 “Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way to where I am going.”

2 Corinthians 5:6-8 So we are always of good courage. We know that while we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord, for we walk by faith, not by sight. Yes, we are of good courage, and we would rather be away from the body and at home with the Lord.

1 Thessalonians 5:9-11 For God has not destined us for wrath, but to obtain salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ, who died for us so that whether we are awake or asleep we might live with him. Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing.

Leave a Reply

