The “High Maintenance” Woman

If there’s one thing I don’t like about females, it’s the “high maintenance” women. For all of you who don’t know, I am a female. But I am not a high maintenance one. To sum it all up, they rub me the wrong way.

I suppose I should tell you my definition of a high maintenance woman. Let’s see….. she’s usually covered in makeup, rarely smiles, disciplines you harshly if you don’t do exactly what she says, seems to have no fun in life, seems to have no joy, gets annoyed easily, harshly disciplines little kids, and is very self-centered. Not every characteristic is seen in every high maintenance woman, but many are. I know that I’m making them seem really bad, but I’m not trying to judge them. I’m just listing characteristics that I really don’t like and I think are kind of stupid. The characteristics, not the people.

What really makes me upset is how many of these females are in my church. I have a friend who fits almost every single characteristic listed above. Are we still awesome friends? Of course! Do I sometimes roll my eyes because she’s acting snooty? Yup. These women need to relax and live their life a little. I’ve had two employers like this. I never rolled my eyes, but I wanted to yell at them to get a life. Go camping! Play in the dirt! Have fun.

I’m not really sure why I’m typing this up. It’s just so ridiculous and just plain dumb. Maybe it’s just the way that I was raised, but when I create a metaphor of me and the high maintenance women, I see me as a kid playing in the streets with my friends, getting dirty, but having fun, while the latter is in a golden carriage with her nose turned up, screaming every time the worn ball gets within ten feet of her. It’s pathetic.

I don’t know why they act how they do. I don’t know if it can be fixed. Maybe it’s just me that’s different. I don’t know. But I promise, I will never become one of those women. I will continue to go camping with no electricity. I will continue to make mud pies and pizzas whenever I can. I will try to not be snooty and act like I’m above others. I will try.

2 thoughts on “The “High Maintenance” Woman

  1. notsosupergirl says:

    Amen girl! I was thinking about that just the other day. But as a side note, I’d rather be sewing, writing songs or writing in general as opposed to mudpies… but I get your point. I’m not one of those “high mantinence girls” either… mud puddles have a special place in my heart πŸ™‚ I think we all can get a little consumed with ourselves at times, I espically get consumed with my achivements. How are your Lent resolutions going? I’ve lost 2 lbs already (hey, it’s an improvment) and have read the Bible everyday this week and almost everyday last week. My sweets thing got broken after my parents brought me back turtle fudge from Disney last week… that stuff can’t be wasted πŸ™‚

    1 Corinthians 4:6-7 (MSG)

    • Abby R says:

      Wow! Losing 2 lbs is great! I’m still going strong with my abstinence from sweets, but I’m beginning to look forward to the day when I can open up my three boxes of Girl Scout cookies! (Your fudge sounds delicious!) I’ve also been reading my Bible more and writing in my journal more constantly. I took a break from school yesterday (with my parents’ permission) to kind of just chill and let go of all of the stress. I talked with God a lot yesterday, and taking just that one day off completely changed how my week and even my life was going. It was miraculous. I’m super glad that you’re progressing so well! Stay strong and I’ll keep praying for you!

Leave a Reply

