Stuck Between a Rock and a Hard Place

A few days ago, I was kind of just thinking to myself how I’ve realized that when people at school or church have run out of resources, they come to me. People that I don’t really know will come up to me and ask me for help. I don’t really mind, but it got me thinking. If I weren’t Christian, would they still come to me? Even though not everyone knows that I am Christian, I think that something about me makes me seem like I can help. I think that it’s my foundation on Christ. I seem like a solid rock that they can lean on in their need.

I’m not trying to boast, I try to never boast. But it is just very interesting that because of my Christian faith, I can better help people. I’m always there, hidden in the shadows, but there. A non-judgemental, caring resource.

Woah. Stop for a moment. Just, stop. This sounds kind of familiar. Isn’t …. God like that? Isn’t He our last resort sometimes? Isn’t He always waiting in the back, even when we desert Him? Isn’t He always looking out for us? It’s kind of shocking my brain right now. I feel really guilty. How many times have I used God for a last resort? I was doing it just now, when I was between a rock and a hard place. I didn’t know what to do, so I looked up and prayed that God would give me the guidance to deal with the situation. He did. He gave me the right words. I realized, that rock and hard place that I’m stuck between? That’s okay. The rock may be pushing down on me, but my hard place is my solid foundation in Jesus Christ. The rock is the world. It’s okay to be stuck there because I’ll be relying on God, which I should have been doing the whole time. One quote that I like says this:

β€œAnd so rock bottom became the solid foundation on which I rebuilt my life.” ― J.K. Rowling.

God is the one thing that we can always rely on to set our lives straight. No matter what, He has the answer. He’s always there. I think that He knows that we humans often use Him as our last resort. We’ve fallen and every branch and vine that we try to use to pick us up again just don’t work. And so we take His hand. He can pull us out of anything. When we die, He will be the only thing left. And I want to build my faith on rock bottom so that when I die, I won’t have a long fall down to my spiritual foundation. I’ll be standing as solid as a rock on top of it.

Leave a Reply

