Washing Away Worry

Last night, I was thinking about posting since it had been a few days since my last post (sorry about that), but I really needed to talk with God so I decided to do that instead. We didn’t talk as long as I would have liked or as deep because my body flicked the switch and I went to sleep. But one thing we discussed, actually the biggest thing in my life right now, was all the worry, anxiety, and stress that I have in my life right now. Well, it’s not really in my life, but I’m holding on to it like it is. So, last night, I decided that I was going to stop worrying. I’m laughing as I write this because that was such a naive thought. Right after I decided to stop worrying, I found myself stressed over school. It’s going to take a while for me to let it all go.

To use a metaphor to help the image sharpen, it’s kind of like I’m trying to reach through the clouds to grab the sun. I’m not blowing the clouds away, but just trying to bypass them. Unfortunately, my clouds keep pulling me back down into the rain. Yet, I continue to reach through over and over again, expecting a different result. Yeah, there’s a famous quote about that. I’m too lazy to look it up though. I’m focusing on this right now.

To help relieve worry, anxiety, stress, and all the other yucky stuff from my life, I’ve found a new Bible verse to memorize. I’ve found that they help me out a lot. Especially if I write it on my hand (don’t tell my mom!). The reason why I think they help, is because I can see that verse throughout my day and it’s kind of like engraving it onto my heart. It’s always present and I have multiple opportunities to contemplate the verse’s meaning. My new verse is one that my Sunday School leader showed us.

“Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.” -Colossians 3:2

I’ve taped it to my mirror as well as writing it on my hand, so that when I get dressed first thing in the morning, I see it and it starts my day off right.

So far, I’ve found a few things in the verse. Continuing on with the clothes topic, worrying about what my clothes look like and how others will see me doesn’t matter. As long as I dress for God (aka modestly) then I’m good. Of course however, I need to make sure that I do look good because people look at me and see a daughter of Christ; this is the only reason why I should care about what people think of me. Another thing that I’ve thought about is that school doesn’t really matter. Yeah, I should try my best and such, but it is so unimportant compared to being a good Christian and keeping up my faith. I’ve been fixing my church building, but now my church body needs work. I’m going to tackle that next.

So lastly I want to give an encouraging word to everyone out there reading this. I just want to say that no matter what you think about yourself, or what others think about you, God thinks that you are perfect. You are His child no matter how old you are. If something’s going on in your life that you need help with, pray to Him and talk to other Christians because more often than not, God works through His creations. I’m always open and available if you need to ask me anything. I might not know the answers, but maybe I’ll know a Bible verse that could help. Keep faith and keep smiling!

 

image

3 thoughts on “Washing Away Worry

  1. notsosupergirl says:

    I love that verse! Another way I remember it is by drawing a cross. The horizonal line represents earthly things and the vertical line represents the things above. So what did you decide to do concerning your resolution to not eat snacks or sweets? I actually gave up sweets yesterday in an attempt to lose 30 lbs by the end of this year and as apart of that I will try to remove a lot of the stress in my life by reading the Bible more and seeking after what God would have me set my mind on. I think I’ll even put a verse on my hand to remember πŸ™‚

    Praying for you,
    Mackenzie

    Matthew 22:37-39 (NIV)
    …β€œβ€˜Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’”

    • Abby R says:

      The cross idea is so cool! I totally would have never thought of it! As for my sweets and snacks, I’m still not eating sweets, but instead of taking away all snacks and having no energy, I’m eating less snacks and healthier ones too. Losing 30lbs is a huge goal, but I hope that you can reach it! I’m happy that you’re deciding to replace the sweets with reading the Bible. Another thing that I recommend is journaling. I know with a blog it kind of seems redundant, but keeping a handwritten journal has helped me a lot too. I’ll keep praying that God gives you determination to keep you rolling to your goals!

      • notsosupergirl says:

        I kept a journal a few years ago, I might need to get back into it. Thanks for your advice and prayers, and I hope you continue to do well with your snack and sweet resolution, it certianly is hard to give up dessert πŸ™‚

        Mackenzie

        Psalm 46:10
        …β€œBe still, and know that I am God”…

Leave a Reply

