Torn in Two

I’m wondering if I’m doing the right thing. Inside, I’m bursting with joy and determination, and I want to continue doing what I’m doing, but I’m wondering if I’ve bitten off more than I can chew. Or rather, not enough. Even though it’s only been two days, I have zero energy. Taking four hour naps two days in a row is not something I usually do. When doing my usual pre-shower workout, I could barely do it. With the stress I’ve been feeling and giving up snacks, I think my body just isn’t able to handle it. So, I’m asking for advice. I know that my health is very important, so should I just stick with not eating sweets and try to give up snacks a little later, or should I keep going through and try to rely on God’s strength? I’m a little torn in both ways. Help!

One thought on “Torn in Two

  1. notsosupergirl says:

    My mom is a runner. Before she starts training for a half marathon she gives up her sweets; it really does make a difference! Determination is a good thing, but sometimes too much of it can wear you out. I am a slight perfectionist with my grades. On my science final, I would study until I couldn’t read the text book right anymore. But the end result wasn’t a perfect score, it was a cold that lasted over my Christmas break. Deciding what to do in this situation is up to you; after all, it was you who made the commitment for your own benefit, but I can offer some suggestions.

    When you would usually eat a snack or find yourself craving one, eat one. But not a physical one. Get in the Word and read. When you find yourself stuck in stress, pray for strength, it’s not good for your health to have all of this stress in your life. Just think, God is so much bigger than your problems. Worry and stress are some of the ways we unintentionally tell God we don’t trust him to take care of us. Another thing, if you aren’t already, drink lots of water. If you don’t have enough water before you began your workout, it can be hard to finish it through. Drink water during and after as well. DO find your strength in God, whatever happens and whatever he calls you to do. Pray about what God would want you to do, whether it be finishing out your original resolution or altering it. You will feel a peace inside you when you know you’ve done what God wanted you to do.

    Joshua 1:3,9 (MSG)
    “In the same way I was with Moses, I’ll be with you. I won’t give up on you. I won’t leave you. Strength! Courage!”
    “Haven’t I commanded you? Strength! Courage! Don’t be timid, don’t get discouraged. God, your God is with you every step you take.”

Leave a Reply

