What a Weekend!

So much happened, this post is going to be just a big jumble of my thoughts. Hold tight!

I think I’ll start with my tubing trip and get that out of the way. It was so much fun! My friend (also named Abby) had invited me to go snow tubing with her youth group a while ago. I had said yes, and this Saturday, I had my first ever experience of snow tubing! It was amazing! I almost died though. Literally. I could have died. This is what happened: after lunch time we went back to the hills, but by now they had melted and then frozen so instead of soft snow, they were slippery ice. I went with two of my friends and on our first run down after lunch, we didn’t stop where we had that morning. We went past that spot, past the end of the snow walls, and towards the poufy barrier with a cliff on the other side. We went under that barrier. Yes, under it. So there I was, laying in a net, completely hanging over the side of the cliff with Abby, with the poufy barrier all around me and unable to move. It was really scary. After about a minute, a bunch of people were finally able to pull us out by our feet. Abby and I were laughing, but it was definitely a nervous laughter. Then we did it again! But the second time we dragged our feet near the end and didn’t almost die again. Overall, it was amazing to spend some time with a different youth group and I made a ton of new friends! An awesome experience for sure.

Alright, now I’m going to rewind a bit to Friday night. Friday night was the night of our Senior Banquet where volunteer kids and youth and young adults serve the elders of our church and put on a show for them too. I did it last year and had a blast. Surprisingly, only six youth showed up. But the nice part was that I was in a group with most of them. It made the night so much better. After we had cleaned up the desserts and the show was about to start, my three teammates and I sat in the back and just talked. We joked and told stories and had a bunch of fun. I got to talk with a guy that I hadn’t really talked with before. I would get to know him a lot more in the next day or so. Especially in the hour or so after I had left the Senior Banquet. You see, while we were cleaning up in the back, he got my cell phone number. Almost as soon as I had left the church building, he started texting me. After a bit of flirting, he had the idea that we should ask each other questions and get to know each other better. So for at least an hour, we did just that. At the same time, I was also texting another friend. She told me some interesting news. Apparently, he liked me. I didn’t really know what to do, so I decided that I would just try and be friends, as usual. Saturday went by and though I was busy tubing most of the day, we did text a bit. Then today came. The night before, I had kind of convinced him to come to my Sunday school instead of his own. Except I didn’t get a chance to talk with him. I felt super bad. But the rest of the day we texted, but now he’s at school and no longer has his phone. I guess I’m just going to play it by ear until God gives me a bit more direction.

Now onto the best part of this weekend. It’s truly amazing. I’m not really sure how to start it all. I guess I’ll start by saying that in the past three days, I have had six people tell me that I’m pretty and beautiful. And every time, I would say thanks, but as usual, not really believe it. Today in church though, we sang at least three or four songs that really touched my heart. Truly touched my heart. I got a spiritual high and was feeling super joyful all day long. I still am! When I was taking a shower however, I really looked at myself. I realized that I had become who I had always imagined a daughter of God to look like. I was beautiful, strong, confident. I was who God was creating me to be. At that moment, I felt like no words to a song could express the joy I had inside. I am made strong because of Him. I am His beautiful creation. I can do anything through HIm. I am a true daughter of God and He loves me with everlasting love.

Philippians 4:13 “I can do all thing through Christ who strengthens me.”

After I got out of the shower, I cleaned my room (a sign that my life is good) and even read some in my Bible. It has definitely been an awesome weekend and I am forever grateful for the blessings that God has given me. I am truly blessed.

One thought on “What a Weekend!

  1. Ashley says:

    Hey girl! I am loving all these new blog posts! πŸ™‚ and you are DEFINITELY pretty and beautiful and strong, inside and out. I’m glad you had such a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

