A Body for God

Your body is a church. God and Jesus and the Holy Spirit reside inside of you. Wherever you go, you carry them around. You are a walking, talking, living child of God. The church isn’t just spiritual though, it’s physical too. This is something that I’ve been thinking through for a while. If my physical body is like a physical church, would anyone want to come? Am I treating my body like I would treat a church building? It’s a question that applies to a lot of ares of my life.

The main area is my eating habits. I’m sure a lot of people have a problem with their weight or figure or image or whatever, and I’m right there with you. Even though people always tell me “You’re so skinny!”, I don’t feel it. And yeah, I’ve tried to motivate myself to lose weight before, but my motivation was always in comparison to others. I saw a cool quote that kind of jogged my mind:

“It’s true, the scale can only give you a numerical reflection of your relationship with gravity. That’s it. It cannot measure beauty, talent, purpose, life force, possibility, strength, or love. Don’t give the scale more power than it has earned. Take note of the number, then get off the scale and live your life. You are beautiful!”
― Steve Maraboli, Life, the Truth, and Being Free

This quote showed me that it doesn’t really matter what my weight is, I mean, I’m 5’11”, I’m going to weigh more than my friends six inches shorter than me. So I’ve stopped worrying about the number, and more about getting my body fit so that I can walk down the street and not have to worry about it. I want to be fit so that God can use my body in the way that it was made. I’m not going to paint my church with makeup to make it look falsely pretty, I’m not going to have weird treatments done to it to make it look like all the other shallow churches out there. I’m going to beat my body until all harm I have done to it by eating, laziness, etc. is gone and only the work of our amazing LORD can be seen.

I know that there are some people that have bodies that have low metabolisms and other stuff that you were born with. If that’s how God made you, that’s how He needs you to do His work. If everybody was the perfect height, the perfect color, the perfect weight, the perfect richness, how would they be able to preach to those that weren’t like them? God made us all different so that we could find those similar to us and tell them the good news. Our bodies and image and weight don’t matter as long as we are the image of Christ. We are all special. We were all made for a purpose. And right now, I’m working towards mine.

I’m sorry if this post kind of turned into a fitness post. I didn’t really mean for it to be. If I really didn’t state this, my main purpose of this post was to say that you are the house of God, you have a purpose, and you are beautiful and loved. I just found that out and sometimes, doubt still slithers in and tries to choke out those good and hopeful thoughts. But through a plan and perseverance, I know that I can become the daughter of Christ that I was made to be.

Leave a Reply

