1 Quarter, 1 Meal, 1 Life

This is not a bragging post. I wanted to put that out there first and foremost so that no questions arise later in the article. This post is about raising awareness for an organization and about God touching my mind and heart. The whole story however, starts with a piece of bread.

The piece of soft, white bread was my breakfast. I was in a super rush this morning, so as I stuffed a small salad into my lunch box and was sprinting out the door, I grabbed whatever my hand touched first. That one piece of bread. I knew it wouldn’t be enough. And I knew that my meager salad wouldn’t be enough to sustain me throughout the day either. But I still ate that one piece of bread. In third period, I began to hear my stomach rumble. I had already drunk more than half of my water bottle and it wasn’t even 10 o’clock! So after seeing, hearing, and smelling the other snacks that my peers around me were eating, I decided that I would go ahead and eat my salad. It sure was good! And for the moment, I was satisfied. As I walked down towards Orchestra, my next class, I passed a few vending machines and remembered that I had a dollar in my pencil pouch, left over from something or another. That one dollar would be my lunch. Or rather, would buy me my lunch.

As the bell rang signaling that Orchestra was over, I exited the classroom with the dollar in my pocket. Stopping at one of the vending machines, I gazed through the bars at my choices, all wrapped in colorful packages and I promise you I could hear them calling me. But, knowing that I was staying after school and would probably get hungry again, I picked the cheapest (and healthiest) choice: pretzels. Reaching in the slot to receive my change, I realized that instead of the 45 cents that I expected, I had received 80 cents. Someone must have left their change, I thought, so I pocketed it and walked to my lunch table and friends.

Before I continue with my story, I’m going to talk a little bit about the fundraiser going on in my school. The DECA club (no, I don’t know what that stands for), was and is doing a fundraiser called “1 Quarter, 1 Meal, 1 Life”. Every time someone donates a quarter, a starving human is given a meal. And that meal could be the difference between life and death. So there I was, sitting at the lunch table, when a couple of my friends dug out some change and decided to donate (though the primary reason was for the candy rewarded to them for giving). I knew that I had some money I could donate, but I convinced myself that if I spend the money, I should get some benefit out of it (more than a piece of candy). So I kept the money in my pocket. However, as I was walking out the door, I had a though; a thought that I’m positive was God speaking to me. “Abby,” He said, “these are my children. Your brothers and sisters. They are dying and look around you. Feel the loose change in your pocket. You are blessed. Now share the blessing.” Now being the obedient daughter of Christ that I am, I replied, “Okay God, I’ll bring back the change in my pocket tomorrow and turn it in.” No less, but no more. As I was thinking about the coins in my pocket, my mind flashed to my piggy bank at home. I had a two inch pile of coins that had been sitting there for who knows how many years. “God,” I said, “I’ve changed my mind. I’m actually going to give all of the coins in my piggy bank along with the change from today.”

Let’s fast forward to tonight. Remembering what I had promised God, I took out my piggy bank and dumped out the whole pile of coins. Being the math/science-y person that I am, I sorted them, did statistics, and then counted them all up. I had a total of eleven dollars and sixty cents. Wow! With that much money, forty six people will be given a meal and possibly keep their life.

Again I remind you, this is not a bragging moment, but merely an example of how God can use a single piece of white bread to feed many people. Kind of reminds me of the story of the loaves and fishes when Jesus fed the 5,000. I feel like I’m making an impact on the world when I donate this stuff. I don’t care about the candy. Give that to the needy too. I don’t care about the thanks, give that to the organization and God. I’m just glad that I could help out.

20130108-224158.jpg

2 thoughts on “1 Quarter, 1 Meal, 1 Life

    • Abby R says:

      I’m so glad I could help! Sometimes I find that the best way to find information is to find someone going through the same stuff. Because no matter what, someone has already had the questions I have, and possibly answers to the question that I’m asking!

Leave a Reply

