A Copy Cat

Yesterday, I was breezing through Pinterest, when I found a really cool quote. I liked it so much and it was so inspirational, that I posted it on Facebook. In less than an hour twenty people had liked it. I was feeling pretty good; I always do when I post something popular, but I got to thinking. People are liking something that I copied off of someone else. They like something that isn’t my work. I wasn’t being original at all. I wasn’t smart enough to make up my own inspirational saying. I had to use someone else’s words. I do that a lot. And I hate it.

I know that I have the wisdom of God in my brain. I have all the smarts in the world. But I can’t think up anything wise to say. I can’t be original. I’ve tried and failed so many times. What’s up with that? Am I not doing something right? Do these things just come in the moment? Whatever it is, it’s not happening to me. I’m walking in someone else’s footsteps. I’m taking the more worn path. I want to be taking the path less traveled by. Because I know that it will make all the difference. It’ll be an adventure of a life time. A quest. A journey.

How is God going to use me? I want to be original and who better to seek advice from than the most original of them all? I pray that since now things are working themselves out and the knots are becoming straight, I can return fully to Him and start really working in His plan. I know it’s going to be hard, and I know that I’ve been failing Him the past month or so, but I still have hope. And now I have a bit more determination. I know I can do it. I’ll achieve it. It may not be tomorrow or the day after, but the day will come. Someday.

Leave a Reply

