Life & Light

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. The same was in the beginning with God. All things were made by Him and not anything that was made was not made. In Him was life, and the life was the light of man.”     – John 1:1-4

I was listening to this song last night and realized it originated from John 1:1-4 which is one of my family’s memory verses. So, I’ve heard the life/light thing for a long time. But I never stopped to think about it. How can I be in the life? What is it? How is He the light? What is the light?

My NIV Study Bible describes life as Christ’s gift and He, in fact, is “the life”. It describes life as one of the great concepts of the Gospel. Wait … what? To live is a concept? Right after that, one of my Bible’s other notations directed me to John 10:28 where Jesus tells us that He “gives His sheep eternal life, and they shall never perish,”. So I guess when they say concept, they mean the concept and promise of eternal life in Heaven. And as to Christ’s gift of life, it’s when He died on the cross for us so we could receive salvation and spend eternity in Heaven with Him. So when we accept Jesus Christ as our LORD and savior, we receive eternal life. And that eternal life in Heaven is the greatest gift that man could receive from God, and that’s why it’s the light of man.

Okay, so I’ve got that much. Now what’s with all this light? When I thought of light in the Bible, I thought of Psalm 119:105 where is says, “Your word is a lamp for my feet and a light unto my path.” I’ve studied this verse before, and this is how I translate it. The Bible is like a spiritual guide down a foggy and rugged path in the Dark Forest. When I don’t trust in the Bible and in God, I can’t see what’s ahead of me, and I don’t know where to turn because of the fog on the path. I’m liable to go the wrong way and end up off of the path. If I don’t listen to the Bible as my spiritual guide, I could also trip and fall on the rough path or even leave the path. His word is a lamp guiding my feet along the rugged path and it’s a light shining through the fog so I can see a few steps ahead of me.

Another thing about light, is that in a dark space, people will find comfort in a light. We are naturally drawn to be in the light because it brings hope and warmth. It’s the same with Jesus Christ. He is our light when we are going through our darkest times. He gives us hope when there is none and is a safe haven from the rest of the world.

I think I get the song lyrics now. I can be in the life by accepting Jesus as my savior and God is in the light by being our beacon of love and hope. He’ll help me “shine like a star” to the rest of the world and be a beacon of love and hope to those who don’t know Christ. All I got to do is be in the life.

Leave a Reply

