Surrounded

Today I was told some shocking news. I’ve promised not to tell the specifics, but I was totally surprised by the actions and also those who did the actions. It might be serious enough to tell someone, but I don’t think it’s my place. I’m praying for the people, but I feel like it’s not enough. It’s changed how I think about them.

That’s another thing. The person who told me the news said that they would never look at the people the same way. Is that right? If I were going through something, would I want to be looked at differently? I was actually thinking about this a few days ago. I was thinking that if I ever got a life threatening disease, I wouldn’t tell anyone besides people like my parents (who probably knew anyways), my youth pastor, and maybe one other person. Would I tell my best friend? If it changed the way others looked and acted towards me; no. It’s kind of like the saying, “Love the sinner, hate the sin”. Does that still apply to this situation? I think it does.

James 5:20 says, “remember this: Whoever turns a sinner from the error of their way will save them from death and cover over a multitude of sins.” Even if it’s not my place, should I still try to help these people? What if this situation only happens once? As I get into my later teenager years, I know this situation will happen again, but hopefully not with these same people. How should I handle it then? I think if they’re good friends, it would be my place to talk to them and help them through it with a different solution.

Another solution I need is one for a friend. They’re going through some really tough times at home and they are really surrounded by the evil of life. We’re not best friends, maybe more like acquaintances, but I still worry and care for them. From what I can tell, they have no light shining in their life besides the few friends that are still true and pure. I want to give them a treat to show them that there are people in their life that care for them and are there for support when they need it. How can I best take them from the troubles of life or lessen the burden?

In Galatians 6:1-2, it says, “Brothers and sisters, if someone is caught in a sin, you who live by the Spirit should restore that person gently. Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.” I think these verses really speak to my prayers. As a sister in Christ to these people, I should try to restore them and show them the potential Christ has for them, and also try to relieve their burdens.
It’s pretty straight forward I guess. Isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

