Indirectly Insulted

My little sister is eleven years old. We don’t always get along (okay, we’re constantly fighting), but I still love her a lot. I’m also very protective of her. Even if I might not show it, some of the things that happen to her make me blow up inside from anger. Well, she gave us shocking news at the dinner table tonight. She told us that her best friend five doors down had slapped her three times on the bus. Three times. The whole family was stunned into silence. I asked her if it had been a playful tap, but she said no, it was a slap. That’s when my mama bear came out. I was so mad! It’s happened before where my little sister’s friends have taken advantage of her slight gullibility and made her do stuff she didn’t want to do. But a slap! I was red-hot, but I wasn’t sure what to do. I really couldn’t do anything. This is what I decided; if I ever catch the “friend” slapping my sister again, I’ll give a big dress down on how to treat my little sister.

But that got me thinking. How does the Bible say to handle these types of circumstances? In Genesis, it says, “Anyone who kills Cain will suffer vengeance seven times over.” Well, my little sister wasn’t killed and I don’t think anyone would appreciate it if I slapped the “friend” twenty-one times. In Proverbs 12:16 it says, “Fools show their annoyance at once, but the prudent overlook an insult.” In Matthew 5:11, “Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me.” And 1 Peter 3:9 says, “Do not repay evil with evil or insult with insult. On the contrary, repay evil with blessing, because to this you were called so that you may inherit a blessing.”

So it sounds as if I want to do the wise thing, I should ignore the insult and repay the “friend” with a blessing. Even if it hurts my little sister? It doesn’t seem right that I let someone I love get beat up while I bless the bully. God helped Samson when he was being hurt and bullied to the extreme. Why can’t I? Is it God’s judgment only?

Here’s a thought. The “friend” isn’t exactly Christian. Is this blessing I’m supposed to give her the knowledge of Christ? That would solve the problem. I would be able to present Christ to her and if she believes, the conflict will hopefully stop. That’s the blessing God wants me to give the insultors and persecutors. The knowledge of Christ and an example of what Christ-followers look like. I would be satisfied with that.

So when someone insults me, I’ll remember to provide them with the blessing of knowledge of Christ and an example of how life is with Him. That way, I can turn my anger motivation into God’s will and help bring people to Christ. Kind of reminds me of Martin Luther King Jr. He did that I think.

Leave a Reply

